Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Poetry Friday: “Downtown at Taylor Park”

Last Friday, I kicked off my participation in Poetry Friday with an Elizabethan sonnet I wrote for my wife as part of my wedding vows.  She has been so helpful and supportive to me in my quest for publication in the world of children’s literature, I felt it was the perfect poem to get things rolling.  Today (our anniversary, ironically), I’m spotlighting a poem I wrote for two other people to whom I owe the deepest gratitude for not only supporting me, but constantly inspiring me:  my two daughters.  Interestingly, it was actually written long before I even knew I wanted to be published in the world of children’s literature.

Now, it may be comprised of only two stanzas, but this poem was a long time coming.  I originally wrote it in the spring of 1999 while watching the girls (ages 7 and 4 at the time) playing at Taylor Park in St. Albans, Vermont.  Taylor Park is the quintessential New England town square, full of lush green grass, tall maple trees, and a big water fountain.  It so happened that, on this day, as I watched my daughters running around being kids, the first stanza just came to me.

I had already had a few adult poems published independently at this point, so writing poetry was nothing foreign to me; writing children’s poetry, though, was unfamiliar.  Not knowing what to do with these two little couplets, I wrote them down when I got home and read it to the girls and their mom.  They liked it, but I felt like I was giving Lauren, my eldest, the spotlight and leaving poor Katie out of it.  I wasn’t sure how to include her, but I kept thinking about it, figuring something would eventually hit me.

It did.

A little over a year later, we were at the park again and I was mulling lines and phrases over in my head…when it dawned on me that even though Katie was playing with her older sister nicely, she was playing differently and seemed to have a different frame of mind.  That was all it took to figure out the angle I needed and bang out the second stanza.

But because no poem is ever good enough, I went back to it a couple years ago and tweaked a couple words here and there.  That’s what writers are supposed to do, right?  Revise, revise, revise??

Well, I think it’s pretty well set now.  I hope you like it!  And if you ever find yourself in northwestern Vermont, take a drive through downtown St. Albans…and maybe you’ll find inspiration, too!


Downtown at Taylor Park

Lovely Lauren, little daughter,
Fishing in the fountain water,
Looking for a leafy fin –
Leaned too far and tumbled in.

Katie-Bea was fishing, too,
Doing what her sister do;
Closed her eyes and made a wish –
Don’t know how, but caught a fish!

- Matt Forrest Esenwine

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Downtown at Taylor Park”

  1. That’s lovely, Matt! I really enjoyed your story about the genesis of this poem. I’ve had that happen too–part of a poem comes to me, I know it’s unfinished, but the next stanza is years in coming.

    This has the light-hearted yet proverb feel of a nursery rhyme/Aesop fable. I can just see it in a book, each stanza with its own page and illustration.

    Wishing you all the best as you work on achieving your publishing dreams!

  2. Matt, somehow in two short stanzas you managed to capture two distinct personalities. It’s a fine poem! Thanks for sharing it.

  3. I love the fact that Lauren is grounded in reality but is still playing like a child, yet I’m playing make believe, where i can do or be anything, even catch a real fish, not just a leaf! I’ve always loved this poem!

  4. What is it with kids and fountains? I had to fish my 4 year old out of a green and slimy fountain, too.
    Thank you for sharing your wonderful poem!

  5. I love the two very different surprises. They give a sense of the two different personalities and the relationship of older and younger sisters. As an older sister, it felt familiar.

  6. Awww – lovely feel to this one and funny too! I find it very difficult to write poems that include my children… and oh yes to revise, revise, revise! Taylor Park sound like an inpiring place to be!

  7. Adorable! I’ve been watching my boys in their “separate” play and noting how each interacts with his surroundings, so I can totally see the scene you create in this poem, and the two distinct personalities of your daughters. Plus it has the lilt of a nursery rhyme – two stanzas chock full of goodness! :)

  8. Pingback: Poetry Friday: Miss Kitty « Write on the World

  9. Love hearing how this poem grew!

  10. I really like the jump-rope-chant feel to these. Glad you worked out a way to not play favorites:>) My favorite line is “Looking for a leafy fin –”

  11. Thank you all for your comments, I appreciate them!

  12. Jennifer on said:

    This poem is one of the many reasons I knew you were the one for me 5 years ago!!
    Just love it!

Leave a Reply

Laura Purdie Salas

writing the world for kids

Eat This Poem

a literary food blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

The Drawer Of M. M. Socks

Stories - Tall and Short for the Tall and Short

Catherine Johnson

Poems for kids of all ages and dreamers everywhere

You've Got Your Hands Full

Just another WordPress.com site

Jama's Alphabet Soup

an eclectic feast of food, fiction and folderol

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

The blog of children's author Tara Lazar

Julie True Kingsley's Blog

Musings on really nothing...

Dave Courvoisier's Blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

sharon abra hanen

children's literature, poetry, & other creative magical stuff

crackles of speech.............. poems for all ages................... by steven withrow

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

J.S. Gilbert

Copywriting, Advertising Creative, Voice Over Talent and a few surprises

The Poem Farm

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

DAN O’DAY TALKS ABOUT RADIO

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,185 other followers

