Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Poetry Friday: “Purgatory”

I have to thank David L. Harrison for this posting.  Last week in his blog, he posted a new poem (you can read it here) which reminded me of one I had written a few years ago about the same subject.  It got me thinking about how and why we view things the way we do…

A group of one hundred people could all witness the same thing simultaneously – a tree, a sunset, a rock, a catastrophe – and each one would see it, feel it, and remember it differently (I’ve written a number of poems about this concept, actually).  A perfect example of this is to take a classroom of children outside to view something mundane like the lawn or the sky – nothing too exciting or stimulating – then bring them inside and ask them to write down one word that describes what they saw.  You’ll get very different answers because each child views life through their own thoughts, interests, and personalities.  We all do.

That’s what’s so great about poetry!

One person can look at a leaf caught in a spiderweb and think stand-up comedy (like David did) while another can look at the same thing and think death (hence, the title of MY poem).

So here it is; it’s a bit more prosaic than most of my poetry, but I wanted to relate the experience as a story as much as a poem.  There’s a distinct narrative I wanted to get across, and even though I wrote it for adults, I wanted younger readers who may happen upon it to be able to understand the gist of what I was saying.

This was published last autumn in the Licking River Review, and now, a year later, with fall fast approaching, I suppose it’s the perfect time to ‘resurrect’ it.  Hope you like it!  And if you want to see more Poetry Friday posts, you can find the complete roundup at Random Noodling!

Purgatory

On its gentle descent to the grave,
a lone maple leaf
found itself
suddenly suspended,
ensnared
in a spiderweb.

Caught halfway
between life and death
it hung,
contemplating
a tenuous existence.

Not wanting to complete
the journey
downward,
the leaf was satisfied
to accept this fate.

Better,
it thought,
than the alternative –
dirt
and rain
and thick-treaded soles.

But as the days grew shorter
the weeks grew long;
and the leaf
dry and brittle with age
watched
longingly
as friends and family passed.

Unexpectedly
a burst of wind
loosed the grasp of the web;
the leaf
now free to fall,
eagerly
descended in anticipation
and finally
happily
found rest.

- Matt Forrest Esenwine

Single Post Navigation

21 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Purgatory”

  1. That is so lovely, Matt! You captured beautifully both the sense of contentment at the leaf’s delayed fate and its longing to be with others who had passed. Such an evocative use of personification.

    I thought David’s stand-up comedy poem was veeeery imaginative and clever. What a delight to see a completely different take on the subject.

  2. Thanks, Renee! Glad you like it; I kne I had to post this, once I saw David’s!

  3. You and I are a bit on the same page today too, Matt…both of us feeling the feelings of of fellow plant beings. Such a thoughtful post here – it is good to get to know you! a.

  4. I know, when I was reading yours, I was thinking how we were both botanically-minded today! Thanks for stopping by, Amy.

  5. Matt, I didn’t get to read your post last night, so I stopped by this morning. It was worth the wait! Hope to meet you face-to-face one day soon.

  6. Matt, I agree with your post. How boring it would be if we didn’t all have different perspectives! It was great to compare the point of view of both David’s and your poem. Might there be a bit of double meaning in “thick-treaded soles?”

    I also think of The Fall of Freddy the Leaf when I read your poem. Maybe the goal is to finally be ready when death does come. A very deep poem, indeed. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Why, yes, I suppose it probably is reminiscent of Freddie, I hadn’t thought of that! Thanks, Joyce!

  8. I love the lines “it hung,/ contemplating/ a tenuous existence.”
    I can relate to your leaf.

  9. I’m glad you liked it, Katya – I was hoping most readers would be able to relate to it in some way or another. Thanks for letting me know it worked!

  10. Interesting how that little detour changed the leaf’s feelings about his fate…time and perspective. I really enjoyed your poem, Matt. To me it has the feeling of a fable.

  11. Thank you, Violet! When I started writing it, I never intended it to be allegorical – but that’s how it shaped itself as I went along, so I figured the poem knew best. ;)

  12. I especially like the first two stanzas and your descriptions of the action–suddenly suspended, it hung, contemplating a tenuous existence… I like the varied line lengths.

  13. *tears*
    Last night was the viewing of a colleague’s mother who died this week of complications due to Alzheimers. A suspended leaf was finally able to complete the fall.

    • Oh, I’m sorry to hear that, Mary Lee; even though it’s probably for the best given the circumstances, it’s still sad when it happens. Thanks for letting me know. I had never thought of that analogy, but I suppose it is apropos.

  14. Oh, I’m sorry to hear that, Mary Lee; even though it’s probably for the best given the circumstances, it’s still sad when it happens. Thanks for letting me know. I had never thought of that analogy, but I suppose it is apropos.

  15. Jennifer on said:

    Another one of my favorites…so glad you shared this one!

  16. davidlharrison on said:

    Matt, I enjoyed your poem as well as the comments. It has been a good year for leaves so we’ll have enough material to last all winter!

Leave a Reply

Laura Purdie Salas

writing the world for kids

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

The Drawer Of M. M. Socks

Stories - Tall and Short for the Tall and Short

Catherine M Johnson

Feed your imagination here

You've Got Your Hands Full

Just another WordPress.com site

Jama's Alphabet Soup

an eclectic feast of food, fiction and folderol

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Julie True Kingsley's Blog

Musings on really nothing...

Dave Courvoisier's Blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Florian Cafe

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

sharon abra hanen

children's literature, poetry, & other magical creative stuff

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

J.S. Gilbert

Copywriting, Advertising Creative, Voice Over Talent and a few surprises

The Poem Farm

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

DAN O’DAY TALKS ABOUT RADIO

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,364 other followers

