Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Poetry Friday: “Monster Supper”

Yes, I realize Halloween is both months away and months behind…but I had to post this now.

poetryfridaybutton-fulllYou see, back in early January, the creative yet enigmatic M.M. Socks posted a poem titled, “Eyeball Dinner” on his blog.  It got me thinking about what else might be served at a dinner that included eyeballs on the menu. But then, of course, I had to carry the concept further in my mind…and wondered what the whole dinner experience might be like.

Hence, the inspiration for “Monster Supper.” Hope you like it!  Or are at least able to get all the way through it. Today Sheri Doyle is hosting Poetry Friday, so be sure to visit her blog for links to all of the day’s offerings!

“Monster Supper”

Come, little monsters,
Sit down, take a seat!
Are your hands filthy?
Good!
We can finally eat!
Your mummy has made you
A terrible feast –
So you can grow up
As a strong, healthy beast.

Remember your manners
And don’t sit up straight;
Burp when you want to
But don’t clean your plate.
Put down those forks!
Play with your food!
Talk while you’re chewing
And always be rude.

Have some weed salad
With fried crispy lips!
I cooked up a rump roast
And saved you the hips.
You’ll love these fresh toenails –
The crunch is superb!
Or try some steamed muscles
With butter and Herb.

The sweet pickled pelvis
Is slimy and cold,
The grilled duodenum
Is starting to mold;
There’s liver lasagna,
Hot skeleton stew,
Gall bladder casserole,
Finger rolls, too!

So eat up, my darlings,
And make sure you drool –
But always remember
My dinnertime rule:
If you don’t eat your eyeballs
And finish your dirt,
You can’t have warm chocolate
Spleens for dessert.

- © 2013, Matt Forrest Esenwine

Single Post Navigation

27 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Monster Supper”

  1. Finger lickin’ good! And so perfect coming from a chef :)

  2. Fun, fun, fun! That is superb. I bet Penny Klostermann would really like this. If I could just suggest dropping finally, it helps the flow :0)

  3. Haha! This is fun-tastic! What great rhythm, too. I laughed out loud that ‘Herb” was capitalized. : )

  4. EWW! I almost didn’t make it past the gallbladder casserole!

  5. The finger rolls were my favorite, until I got to the chocolate spleens. I like that even monsters have to eat dinner before they can have dessert!

  6. Suitably gross, loads of fun, and oozing with kid appeal. The thought of crunching on toenails got me and then I got to liver lasagna. Ewww. And if you gotta eat spleens, glad they’re chocolate ones. Have you seen Jessica Swaim’s Scarum Fair?

    • Thanks, Jama! Not the type of food one would probably find on ‘Alphabet Soup’ – but hey, monsters are people, too! I haven’t heard of Scarum Fair – I’ll have to look it up!

  7. A definite “terrible feast”! But what a fun read.

  8. Oh, the toenails killed me. This was so much fun, Matt. Are you sure you’re not related to some zombies — it was *all too real.*

  9. Some of my favorite disgusting bits:
    I cooked up a rump roast
    And saved you the hips.

    The grilled duodenum
    Is starting to mold;

    Has anyone used “duodenum” in a poem before? If not, I think we should give you some sort of prize! The Dubious Duodenum Award of Distinction, perhaps.

    • Thank you, all! Tabatha, I don’t know if anyone’s used that word – but I figured it was about time someone did. May I suggest we call the award, The Dubious Duodenum Award of Disphinction? Because, well…y’know…

  10. Hilarious! I love the lines:
    “Burp when you want to
    But don’t clean your plate.”
    Words I’ve never uttered as a mother, but ones my girls would love me to say! Thanks for the grins. =)

  11. margaretsmn on said:

    I think my boy students would love this monster supper. The more disgusting the better. The rhythm and rhyme work well together.

  12. Scrumptious rumps and strips of hips
    Stale toenails and chips of lips
    Such a garish, ghastly feast
    Perfect for the just deceased!

    What I really wanted to say ‘was Finger-licking Good!’ but Renee beat me to it (as usual).

    Nice job, Matt!

  13. Ewww, the “sweet pickled pelvis!” My students would love this one. Thanks!

  14. Ewww gross never tasted so good. Nice job, Matt!

  15. What? No ribs? I was going to say “cute poem”…. but it doesn’t seem to fit! Um…. Brute poem?

  16. Pingback: Poetry Friday: “Stone-Kicking” | Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Leave a Reply

Laura Purdie Salas

writing the world for kids

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

The Drawer Of M. M. Socks

Stories - Tall and Short for the Tall and Short

Catherine M Johnson

Feed your imagination here

You've Got Your Hands Full

Just another WordPress.com site

Jama's Alphabet Soup

an eclectic feast of food, fiction and folderol

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Julie True Kingsley's Blog

Musings on really nothing...

Dave Courvoisier's Blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Florian Cafe

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

sharon abra hanen

children's literature, poetry, & other magical creative stuff

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

J.S. Gilbert

Copywriting, Advertising Creative, Voice Over Talent and a few surprises

The Poem Farm

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

DAN O’DAY TALKS ABOUT RADIO

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,364 other followers

