Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Poetry Friday: “Irony”

If you’ve been following the #MMPoetry March Madness competition at Ed DeCaria’s website, www.ThinkKidThink.com, then you know some of the insanely difficult words that the poets (a.k.a. the ‘authletes’) are being required to write poems with:  periphery, deleterious, anthropomorphization, and many others.

poetryfridaybutton-fulllMy poem from last week, featuring the word verjuice, failed to garner enough votes to push me into the second round…but it hasn’t stopped me from encouraging folks to continue visiting Ed’s site and reading and voting on each new round of poems. And there have been some terrific ones, too!

But as I thought about the polysyllabic poetic predicaments my fellow poets had gotten themselves into, I remembered this poem of mine that I wrote about a year ago…with polysyllablism to spare! Hope you like it. Be sure to visit Greg Pincus at Gotta Book for all the Poetry Friday happenings!

Irony

My teacher said we had to write a poem using couplets.
I thought about it for a while, and used the word ‘quintuplets.’

But then she said my poem didn’t have alliteration.
So I came up with, “creaky, crusty, crabby ol’ crustacean.”

She gave it back to me because it wasn’t metaphorical.
I told the crazy bat my characters were allegorical.

“But where’s the simile?” she asked. “It needs some more revision.”
(I wished I could have turned her off, like dad’s old television)

Her eyes got red, she glared at me – and said it wasn’t metrical.
I stared right back and stated every iamb’s academical.

I turned it in and waited for my grade with apprehension.
For all that work, I got an ‘A’!

I also got detention.

- © 2013 Matt Forrest Esenwine

Single Post Navigation

19 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Irony”

  1. maryleehahn on said:

    Just because your VERJUICE didn’t win in #MMPoetry doesn’t mean you can’t write some wicked good poetry!!

  2. Hahahahaha! This poem is awesome, Matt!

  3. I second that, Mary Lee!

  4. I loved your verjuice poem, and this one is great too!

  5. *thunderous applause* Faboo poem, Matt. You had a crazy bat teacher too? :D

  6. Loved your word choice and especially your ending… thanks for the chuckle.

  7. So funny, Matt. Egads — this is how teachers kill poetry for kids. That’s why my favorite line is the simile “I wish I could have turned her off, like Dad’s old television.”

  8. This made me grin widely. Great stuff!

  9. Very fun – thanks for sharing. What a great last line!!

  10. lol…as my sixth graders like to say. Chances are they would also like the part about
    “creaky, crusty, crabby ol’ crustacean” – which has, no doubt, come to mind upon occasion as they have viewed me!

  11. Cory Corrado on said:

    Terrific!!!!!!

  12. Thank you all for your comments – I’m glad you liked it! Sorry I haven’t been around much this weekend (been celebrating my two daughters’ 21st and 18th birthdays with one big party on Sat.), but I appreciate you stopping by!

  13. Pingback: National Poetry Month: First Day Budding | Write on the World

Leave a Reply

Laura Purdie Salas

writing the world for kids

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

The Drawer Of M. M. Socks

Stories - Tall and Short for the Tall and Short

Catherine M Johnson

Feed your imagination here

You've Got Your Hands Full

Just another WordPress.com site

Jama's Alphabet Soup

an eclectic feast of food, fiction and folderol

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Julie True Kingsley's Blog

Musings on really nothing...

Dave Courvoisier's Blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Florian Cafe

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

sharon abra hanen

children's literature, poetry, & other magical creative stuff

crackles of speech.............. poems for all ages................... by steven withrow

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

J.S. Gilbert

Copywriting, Advertising Creative, Voice Over Talent and a few surprises

The Poem Farm

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

DAN O’DAY TALKS ABOUT RADIO

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,345 other followers

