Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Poetry Friday: “Crocus”

poetryfridaybutton-fulllI’m guessing this will be the last poem I feature from my winter-themed collection of children’s poetry; with April (National Poetry Month!) just around the corner, winter is definitely behind us.

I wrote this last year, specifically because I wanted a poem that would serve as an appropriate end to my manuscript.  Aside from the fact that the collection is all about winter, I organized the poems chronologically, starting with one about trees losing their leaves, moving on to the holidays, through January and February, and finally concluding with the promise of spring. I thought a crocus would be the perfect image for the two competing seasons, considering it often grows through snow…so I hope you like it!

Mary Lee and Franki at A Year of Reading are today’s Poetry Friday hostesses – so pop on over and see what else is happening in the kidlitosphere!

“Crocus”

When winter’s winds are on the wane
And sunshine warms young April days,
When snow gives way to slushy rain
The crocus springs anew.

While crouching ‘neath the frosty crust,
On tender bended stem it prays
To fend off one more crushing gust
And melt the frozen dew.

- © 2013 Matt Forrest Esenwine

crocus-in-the-snow-spring--thumb1294868

By the way, speaking of National Poetry Month, I’ll be participating in Irene Latham’s 2013 ‘Progressive Poem’ at Live Your Poem.  No, it has nothing to do with politics – it’s a poem that will start with one blogger on April 1 (Amy Ludwig VanDerwater) and travel from blog to blog each day, with each blogger adding a new line to the poem. By the end of the month, we’ll have a completed poem!  (I’ll be adding the third line to the poem on April 3 – so please check back, and follow along with all the bloggers!)

I’ll also be featuring poetry in all of my April blog posts (each Tue. and Fri.), so I hope you’ll join me.  Remember, if you subscribe to this blog you’ll always be notified when a new post has made made!

Single Post Navigation

30 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Crocus”

  1. Lovely to envision those snow capped crocuses in prayer – here’s to Spring and the banishing of snow!

  2. Beautiful Spring poem, Matt! And I’m really looking forward to the progressive poem.

  3. Let’s really hope winter is behind us — especially for you folks up in New England! I’m sending some strong melting juju up your way.

    Lovely poem, Matt. I’ll mention your April poetry offerings in my Kidlit PM Roundup. :)

  4. Thank you, both!

  5. Hi, Matt. My mother always grew crocuses. They (and snowdrops) were our first sign of spring. My favorite line — for its sense of longing — is: “On tender bended stem it prays.”

  6. I love this poem, Matt. And I saw the very first purple crocus in the yard today! I really needed that promise of spring so your poem is very timely in a personal way. Great alliteration and rhythm from the beginning. What a lovely image to think of that crocus “on tender bended stem it prays.” Superb.

    • Thank you, Joyce! I always see them bent over when the sprouts are first breaking through the ground, and it just seemed like what they’re doing. Looking forward to emps in the 50’s this weekend!

  7. Love the image of the crocus peeking from the frost and praying. Happy spring! Looking forward to joining in the poetry fun.

  8. Matt,
    Thank you for sharing your crocus poem. Sure wish I could send you some of our warm weather. I’ll look forward to seeing your line on Day 3 of Irene Latham’s progressive poem.

  9. Crocus are one of my favorite spring happenings. Lovely photo and poem! I am looking forward to April and will check back with you.

  10. haitiruth on said:

    Praying is exactly the right image for these flowers. This is beautiful.

  11. Lovely poem, Matt. My crocuses are still crouching ‘neath the frosty crust (although I saw the first buds today.) Not sure where you live, but we’re supposed to have SNOW again on Sunday night, so you might have time for one more winter poem!

    • Thank you both! Ruth, as I mentioned to Joyce above, it really looks like what they’re doing when the first start pushing up from the ground, through the frost…and I can certainly understand why! And Buffy, I’m in NH…and I have to say, I’m thrilled we’re expecting sunshine and temps in the 50’s through Monday! Woo-HOOO!

  12. Pingback: Poem A Day For April, Part Deux | The Ranting Papizilla

  13. What I like here is the slightly old-fashioned diction–I wrote a similar poem for Pumpkin Butterfly called “April Gale.” (Also have my own crocus poem in Squeeze, called “Launch.”) It’s fun sometimes to go for a less modern register. My favorite line is “fend off one more crushing gust.”

  14. It’s a beautiful poem, Matt, a real promise isn’t it? And the photo shows they have such hardiness. I’m in a new home this spring, so surprises have been peeking through all week, since the last snow. We’ve had great weather & then Monday back cold again. Ah-h, it’s April Fool’s Day! Thanks for a good spring fling!

  15. amyludwigvanderwater on said:

    Such a beautiful poem, so perfect for today in Western New York. Your crocus and Mary Lee’s hyacinth should be friends. Thank you, Matt!

  16. Thank you both! I appreciate you taking the time to stop by…have a wonderful weekend!

  17. Steve Peterson on said:

    Very nice! I love the image and the music of all of the “e’s” in this line:

    On tender bended stem it prays

  18. What a great choice of poem to end a winter collection. There is still snow, but it’s definitely on its way out. Very nice.

  19. Pingback: Poem A Day Challenge #1 | The Ranting Papizilla

  20. Pingback: National Poetry Month: First Day Budding | Write on the World

Leave a Reply

Laura Purdie Salas

writing the world for kids

Eat This Poem

a literary food blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

The Drawer Of M. M. Socks

Stories - Tall and Short for the Tall and Short

Catherine Johnson

Poems for kids of all ages and dreamers everywhere

You've Got Your Hands Full

Just another WordPress.com site

Jama's Alphabet Soup

an eclectic feast of food, fiction and folderol

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Julie True Kingsley's Blog

Musings on really nothing...

Dave Courvoisier's Blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Florian Cafe

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

sharon abra hanen

children's literature, poetry, & other magical creative stuff

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

The Voice Talent Productions Blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

J.S. Gilbert

Copywriting, Advertising Creative, Voice Over Talent and a few surprises

The Poem Farm

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

DAN O’DAY TALKS ABOUT RADIO

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,281 other followers

