Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Poetry Friday: “Can You Saddle Up a Horsefly?”

poetryfridaybutton-fulllAmong the many manuscripts for children’s books that I’ve either completed or am currently working on, is a nature-themed poetry collection. I’m not sure that ‘nature’ is specific enough of a theme to attract the attention of an agent or publisher – these days, everything has to have a ‘theme,’ you know – but for now, it is what it is, and this poem comes from that collection.

I was thinking about bug names and how so many of them could be confused or misconstrued…and after several weeks of writing and revising, I ended up with this! Hope you enjoy it.

Monarch & black-eyed susans

“Can You Saddle Up a Horsefly?”

Are ladybugs all ladies?

Are there gentlemanbugs, too?

Does a praying mantis ever pray?

And if they do, to who?

Why is it every summer, lightning bugs light up the night,
But thunderbugs – they don’t exist! I just don’t think it’s right.

I doubt that dragonflies breathe fire and turn knights into roast.
And what about a butterfly?  Do they taste good on toast?

The June bugs buzz all summer long, not just the month of June;
If mayflies flew in April, would we say they flew too soon?

A yellowjacket’s jacket’s yellow – what about his pants?
And where does one buy uniforms for all the army ants?

We know grasshoppers love to hop, but can they leap or skip?
Can you saddle up a horsefly – then take him on a trip?

A honeybee makes honey; what’s a dung-beetle to make??
It’s questions just like these, at night…

that keep me wide awake.

- © 2013, Matt Forrest Esenwine

Looking for more poetry? Be sure to visit Amy at The Poem Farm for all of today’s Poetry Friday links!

===================================================================

Did you like this post? Find anything interesting somewhere in this blog? Want to keep abreast of my posts?  Then please consider subscribing via the links over here on the right! (I usually only post twice a week – on Tue. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day!)  You can also follow me via Twitter or on Facebook.

Single Post Navigation

33 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Can You Saddle Up a Horsefly?”

  1. What great fun, Matt! This is so playful. Now I may not be able to look at butterflies without thinking of toast…and you! Thank you for the silly midnight smile on my face. a.

  2. Wonderful, Matt! That is so fun :0)

  3. This is so clever! I love the line about butterflies tasting good on toast!

  4. Darlene Gifford on said:

    I more than enjoyed it, Matt! The child in me laughed. Great work and congratulations. I had a pacemaker put in last Friday, so I was feeling very sore and weak. But your poem lifted my spirits. Thanks.

  5. Sorry, I cut myself off!

  6. Janet F. on said:

    As a teacher, Matt, I really loved this. I can see using it with kids. It will help them with thinking about words and vocabulary and nature in a fun and playful way! Can’t wait to share it. I hope to read it in a book some day!

  7. Thank you all! I’m glad you enjoyed it – and that you’ll be looking at butterflies in a whole new light. Janet, please let me know what the kids think!

  8. Oh, my gosh, I am cracking up, Matt. I love where this wondering about words took you. The yellow jacket’s pants — ha! I think the neglected thunderbugs should have their own picture book (or at least their own poem).

  9. So clever and funny, Matt.
    I’ve been battling carpenter bees — they drill such perfectly round holes that I would swear they have a toolbag hidden somewhere.

  10. I loved this Matt. It’s whimsy and fun made me laugh.

  11. Still giggling over the dung beetles — and all the other bugs you’ve made me appreciate anew. Playful, fun, whimsical, surprising. Pure delight!

  12. haitiruth on said:

    I love the way you played with words in this poem!

  13. So many good questions, Matt! I know kids wonder about boy ladybugs. Trying to get uniforms on army ants — what a nightmare!

  14. Steve Peterson on said:

    Lots and lots of fun, Matt! Like Janet, I’d love to use this with kids next year. How do I go about getting permission for such a thing?

  15. maryleehahn on said:

    “A yellowjacket’s jacket’s yellow – what about his pants?
    And where does one buy uniforms for all the army ants?”

    Those were my favorite lines, though there was cleverness all the way through. So fun!

    I’m curious about you sharing poems here that you will someday be submitting. Don’t publishers want shiny new poems that have never been published even on a blog?

    And while I’m asking, do you have an agent, and if not, how are you shopping your poetry around?

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Mary Lee! To answer your first question…I don’t know! I can’t imagine that a publisher who might want to publish me would balk at poems that were previously read by only a few hundred people, at most. Although I’m trying to increase my visibility, I’m still a relative unknown! (But then again, who knows?) If I knew the answer I might, perhaps, be doing things differently!

      As for your other questions: no, I don’t have an agent – but not for lack of trying. I’ve been submitting my manuscript(s) to various agents and publishing companies who I think might be receptive, but so far, no bites. I’ve also submitted innumerable poems to Highlights and the Cricket publications, but also to no avail. I will have an original children’s poem included in an anthology tentatively due to come out in Spring 2015 – but other than that, I remain unpublished.

      Onward and upward!

      • Just so you know, Matt. First priority for me is to get your publishing career going, not to use a poems. For me, it’s better in the long run to have lots of Matt Forrest poetry out here than a little. :) If you feel uncomfortable having me use it, I’m totally cool with that, too. Best to you!!

      • Thank you, Steve – I’m not uncomfortable at all about it. Getting my poetry out there is all I’m trying to do right now, to give people an idea of what I do, my style, my ‘voice,’ per se. I want to retain my rights, of course, but I figure I can always write more!

      • Not for long, Matt– not for long. With the quality and character of your poetry, I’m sure you *will* be published and will be well-loved by many!

        The question about submitting blog-published poems is a tricky one which I grapple with as well. I know that there definitely are magazine publishers who will not take poems that have been previously published online. My guess is it would be less of a problem with a book publisher that’s publishing a collection of your poetry, though I’m certainly no expert. I tend to be cautious with what I post… maybe overly cautious. By leaving out my “best” work, is my blog not fully representative of who I am as a writer? Maybe it comes down to whether we’re savers or spenders in life. Sometimes you have to spend in order to get the big payback. That’s a lesson I’m still working on!

  16. Love this, Matt– “child-ish” in the best possible way. All those why questions! Really speaks to what fascinates and enchants children.

    • Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Michelle! The way I look at it, the blog is like my voiceover demo – a prospective client may only listen to the first 10 seconds of a demo, so you’d better have your best stuff right up front. That’s what I do with the blog, although I do tend to mix things up a bit…we’ll see if it works!

  17. Matt, I can’t believe I missed this post way back in June! This is absolutely delightful. I adore the yellowjackets line, and all the other ones too. BRAVO!!!

Leave a Reply

Laura Purdie Salas

writing the world for kids

Deborah Blake Dempsey

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

The Drawer Of M. M. Socks

Stories - Tall and Short for the Tall and Short

Catherine M Johnson

Feed your imagination here

You've Got Your Hands Full

Just another WordPress.com site

Jama's Alphabet Soup

an eclectic feast of food, fiction and folderol

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Julie True Kingsley's Blog

Musings on really nothing...

Dave Courvoisier's Blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

sharon abra hanen

practical poetic tools, inspiration, & coaching for people who create

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

J.S. Gilbert

Copywriting, Advertising Creative, Voice Over Talent and a few surprises

The Poem Farm

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

DAN O’DAY TALKS ABOUT RADIO

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,388 other followers

