Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Poetry Friday: “The Kids Are Away” – plus links, links, links!

poetryfridaybutton-fulllI know, I’m a day early…but my wife is giving birth today to her 2nd child (my 4th), and I thought she might be a tad annoyed with me if I spent my time in front of the computer rather than by her side.

And honestly, by her side is the only place I want to be right now.

So I’m sharing with you a poem I wrote several years ago – 2001, as a matter of fact. It came about as I was enjoying some quiet time with my first wife while our two  daughters were away visiting their grandparents. It’s a children’s poem for adults, if that makes sense. Hope you like it.

“The Kids Are Away”

Nothing has been broken.
Nothing has been torn.
No clothes are piled upon the floor
after they’ve been worn.

There’s been no angry yelling
and no one’s hurt or mad.
This house seems awful quiet
when there’s just a mom and dad.

- © 2001, Matt Forrest Esenwine

.
Now, for the links!

For the complete Poetry Friday roundup, please visit Steps and Staircases!

Also, please be sure to check out my interview with children’s author/poet David Elliott at Poetry at Play from earlier this week, if you haven’t already!

Finally, I’d like to give a quick shout-out to my online critique group, Poet’s Garage! This is one extremely talented crew, and I’m honoured that they accepted me into their clan just a few months ago. Click on the graphic below to learn a little more about each of us, and if you follow Poetry Friday with any kind of regularity, I’m sure you’ll recognize many of the faces and names!

Thanks for visiting, and the next time we talk, you’ll hear a baby in the background!  (Well, I will, anyway)  Have a great weekend!

===================================================================

PoetsGarage-badgeDid you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it!  To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)  Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter , Facebook, and Pinterest!

Single Post Navigation

18 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “The Kids Are Away” – plus links, links, links!

  1. I know the feeling in your poem well, Matt. Sure brought back memories of when our son left home and it felt spookily quiet. All the best to you and your wife at this exciting time. Hope all goes well.

  2. I have to say, I quite enjoy my quiet house! Congratulations on the new arrival. I wish good health and happiness to all.

  3. We have not had a day without the boys since they were born…and that’s okay. :) CONGRATULATIONS, MATT!!!!!

  4. Lovely poem and congratulations! How exciting.

  5. Reblogged this on Catherine Johnson and commented:
    Congratulations to Matt and his family. The poem makes me glad I’ve got a fair few years with the kids at home.

  6. Your poem reminds me why I have the grandchildren over as much as possible, Matt. Very fun. Congratulations and best wishes to you, your wife and soon-to-be new member of the family-so exciting!

  7. rnewman504 on said:

    Congratulations!

  8. Congratulations! Love the poem!

  9. margaretsmn on said:

    Loved that feeling when my kids were young. Now I miss the piles of laundry, not really, but I do miss them! Congrats and best wishes that everything with the birth and new baby goes well.

  10. Hope all went well with the birth of your baby. It’s very quiet and weird when the kids are having a sleep-over at a friend’s place. I still tip-toe around at night forgetting they’re not even there. Love your cute poem.

  11. Vikram Madan on said:

    Congrats Matt! Wishing your family the best :)

  12. Congratulations!

  13. Matt, congratulations to you and your family! I hope all goes well and you can be home soon with your new baby. Best wishes!!

  14. Congratulations on the new family member!

    Love the poem — you totally “got” me at the end!

  15. Congratulations to you and your family! Thank you to Steven for finding my space and submitting on your behalf, also : ) I enjoyed your poem and the interview with David Elliott. Wishing you and your family many days of new baby bliss!

Leave a Reply

Laura Purdie Salas

writing the world for kids

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

The Drawer Of M. M. Socks

Stories - Tall and Short for the Tall and Short

Catherine M Johnson

Where poetry and art collide

You've Got Your Hands Full

Just another WordPress.com site

Jama's Alphabet Soup

an eclectic feast of food, fiction and folderol

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Julie True Kingsley's Blog

Musings on really nothing...

Dave Courvoisier's Blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Florian Cafe

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

sharon abra hanen

children's literature, poetry, & other magical creative stuff

crackles of speech.............. poems for all ages................... by steven withrow

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

J.S. Gilbert

Copywriting, Advertising Creative, Voice Over Talent and a few surprises

The Poem Farm

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

DAN O’DAY TALKS ABOUT RADIO

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,334 other followers

