Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Poetry Friday: “To the Newborn (for Phoebe)”

poetryfridaybutton-fulllI can’t believe a week has already flown by since my new daughter, Phoebe, arrived. It’s been a busy week, too: getting adjusted to having a baby in the house, helping our 3-year-old to become acclimated to the concept (he’s a great little big brother), plus helping my wife as much as possible while she recovers from her C-section.

All this on top of trying to run my voiceover business while prepping for a big, 5-day-gig as the announcer at the local state fair Labor Day weekend.

Oh, and did I mention that on Wednesday I dropped a 6-foot, 8-inch diameter log on my left big toe, splitting the nail in half?  (Yeah, that was a big, fat ouch, let me tell you). So it’s been a crazy, crazy, crazy busy week.

I’ve had the idea for this poem since she was born, by the way – but considering all of the above, I didn’t have time to put it to paper until last night. Normally, I don’t share first drafts, but this is actually a 3rd-draft, and I’m fairly happy with it…although I’m sure I’ll tinker with it again tomorrow, and the next day, and next week, and…well, you know how poets are.

Gotta run…I hear a baby crying! For more poetry, visit today’s Poetry Friday hostess, Betsy, at I Think In Poems!

.

Phoebe - 1  week

Phoebe Kenna-Rose, on her 1-week birthday. And yes, those cheeks ARE exceedingly pinch-able.

“To the Newborn (for Phoebe)”

Little one,
with eyes wide
to a world
you cannot see,
find comfort in the world
you know:
sustenance
in your mother’s breasts,
security
in father’s arms,
peace
in the familiar.

Enjoy the warm sweetness
of milk on your tongue,
smile at dreams only you
can know,
and sleep soundly
safely
as long as you like…

for you, little one,
do not know
this world beyond
your world.
This world that awaits
knows neither
comfort
nor sustenance
nor safety.
But it will,
little one,
soon

be yours.

You do not yet realize
this world
you so depend upon
depends
on you.

- © 2013, Matt Forrest Esenwine

===================================================================

PoetsGarage-badgeDid you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it!  To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)  Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter , Facebook, Pinterest, and SoundCloud!

Single Post Navigation

29 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “To the Newborn (for Phoebe)”

  1. Eric Ode on said:

    Beautiful, beautiful job, Matt! And again, congratulations.

  2. I’ve written some newborn poems when my grandchildren were born, Matt. It’s such a pleasure to read your special words for Phoebe. I love that middle part, “and sleep soundly safely as long as you like…” My hope for Phoebe too, and all the babies! Thank you for sharing!

  3. You said it like it is, Matt. From your beautiful daughter’s pinchable cheeks to that last stanza: “You do not yet realize/this world/you so depend upon/depends/on you.” It’s a heavy burden our children must take on; but for now, yes, let her dwell in that familiar comfort. Congratulations!

  4. Lovely, Matt. Great last line! Glad to hear Phoebe is settling in well with all of you.

  5. Matt, that was beautiful. I’m so glad you read it as well. I’m happy for you and your wife. May you all know laughter, joy and days of wisdom and may she also sleep through the nights.

  6. Congratulations, Matt! What can I say, but the old cliche–enjoy them while they’re little. My daughter is getting married tomorrow and it’s a bittersweet time for me. Before you know it, you’ll be there, too!

  7. Precious! Poem and baby! Congratulations!

  8. Just lovely, Matt. I’ve always loved the way babies smile at dreams only they can know. You really captured that sense of Phoebe living in her own world, for now.

  9. Thank you, all! I really appreciate your thoughts and support.

  10. Beautiful Matt! Congratulations to you and your family. Now, can you explain why you were involved with a 6′ log in the first place???? :)

  11. A beautiful poem for a beautiful girl. Congratulations!

  12. Thank you both! Derek, My folks, who are both about 80, are clearing land for a garage, and all the trees are oaks & maples…just what I need for firewood in the winter. (We got through about 6 cords) So a friend of theirs & I have been cutting everything up and hauling the wood to my house. Unfortunately, as I was attempting to transport this one big log, it rolled the wrong way and landed >Smack!< on my toe. Split the nail right in half. Not fun.

  13. Holy cow, this has been a crazy week! Phoebe was born, we got home and are adjusting, then I drop the log on my foot…and today, we’re driving down the interstate when a deer jumps onto the highway right in front of the guy in front of me! He hits it, it gets flung backwards toward my car, and we nail it – and narrowly avoid driving off the road at 65 mph! Vehicle has probably at least $1000 worth of damage….>sigh<

    I think I'm going to bubble-wrap the entire family for the next few days, just in case.

    • YIKES!! Kind of reinforces what you said about the world at the end of your poem. Luckily, it is obvious that the world needs YOU and your whole family…so glad it’s just money and a car, not lives!! Definitely go for the bubble wrap!!

      • Thanks, Mary Lee. We’re heading to Massachusetts tomorrow to visit my wife’s folks, so I’ll need to make sure my life insurance is paid up!

  14. Beautiful Matt! And congratulations again! I’m so sorry you smashed your toe! Ouch!

  15. margaretsmn on said:

    Congratulations on your beautiful daughter! What a wonderful way to honor her with this poem. I loved hearing your voice read it. Sleep as long as you like…

  16. Such beauty here, Matt. Both in the poem and in your baby girl. Truly lovely. This post made me smile today. :)

  17. Congratulations to you and your family, Matt! Beautiful daughter and beautiful poem! I know the feeling of wanting to bubble-wrap everything. I think I might have had a whole year like that once. Best to you –

  18. Gorgeous baby, tender poem, Kenna-Rose is just a lovely middle name, all yours to balance the insanity of the natural world, which seems out to get you, Matt. Good luck! ;-)

  19. Aww, what a beautiful baby! There is absolutely nothing like having a newborn in the house. Wishing you all the best, and thanks for sharing your lovely poem.

  20. Beautiful, Matt. Those early days are such a blur, and I remember wanting to preserve every moment.

Leave a Reply

Laura Purdie Salas

writing the world for kids

Deborah Blake Dempsey

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

The Drawer Of M. M. Socks

Stories - Tall and Short for the Tall and Short

Catherine M Johnson

Feed your imagination here

You've Got Your Hands Full

Just another WordPress.com site

Jama's Alphabet Soup

an eclectic feast of food, fiction and folderol

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Julie True Kingsley's Blog

Musings on really nothing...

Dave Courvoisier's Blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Florian Cafe

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

sharon abra hanen

children's literature, poetry, & other magical creative stuff

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

J.S. Gilbert

Copywriting, Advertising Creative, Voice Over Talent and a few surprises

The Poem Farm

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

DAN O’DAY TALKS ABOUT RADIO

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,375 other followers

