Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Poetry Friday: “…Although, maybe I should go back for some pizza”

It’s hard for me to believe, but it has been 13 months since I began this blog! Where does the time go?? I’m currently busy working at the 98th annual Hopkinton (NH) State Fair, where I have been the announcer for about 5 years; I remind people what events are taking place, inform them as to where facilities are, and also announce the demolition derbies Sat. and Sun nights. It’s a long, 60-65 hour weekend of talking, walking, and smiling…but I love it. So, since I don’t have the time to post something new today, I’m reposting this fair-themed poem from last year; this was originally published Sept. 7, 2012.

For all the Poetry Friday links, be sure to head on over to A Teaching Life with Tara!

===================================================================

poetryfridaybutton-fulllYes, that’s the title of the poem.  I know, it’s a bit odd, but so is the person who wrote it.  Actually, there’s a reason why I titled it this way…you’ll understand once you read the poem.

This was written last summer, as I was preparing for my duties as the official live announcer for the annual Hopkinton State Fair here in New Hampshire.  It’s one of the largest fairs in the state and takes place during Labor Day Weekend.

I was the announcer for this year’s fair as well, and I’m still recuperating.  It’s not the nearly 65-hours-on-my-feet-for-5-days schedule that gets me; it’s the food!  Between deep-fried pickles, Pop-Tarts and Oreos, barbecued bison burgers, and roast turkey legs that would give Fred Flintstone a hernia, it’s a fair-foodie’s dream-come-true.  My annual favourite?  A loaded baked potato with chili, bacon, cheese, broccoli, sour cream, chives, salsa, and jalapenos.

I tell them to hold the butter because I really don’t need the fat.

“…Although, maybe I should go back for some pizza”

I love the fair, but most of all, the food is hard to beat –
It’s barely 2pm, and yet I’ve had so much to eat!
I started with a burger, had a corn dog and some fries,
And then hot buttered popcorn in a box of massive size.

I feasted on the fried dough, ate a funnel cake or three,
And downed as many deep-fried foods as there could ever be.
Of course I needed ice cream, so I stopped to have a scoop;
I even scarfed a giant, cheesy bread bowl full of soup!

Had cotton candy, caramel apples, schnitzel on a stick,
And polished off a pulled pork sub entirely too quick.
I’ve eaten all the sausage my poor stomach will allow;
So really…all I want…
is just a garden salad now.

- © 2011, Matt Forrest Esenwine

===================================================================

PoetsGarage-badgeDid you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it!  To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)  Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter , Facebook, Pinterest, and SoundCloud!

Single Post Navigation

24 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “…Although, maybe I should go back for some pizza”

  1. Great stuff Matt. Thanks for sharing. Now if you’ll excuse me, I feel the need to snack on a bottle of Tums! :)

  2. Pingback: The Importance of Teachers: Poetry Friday #30 | Write. Sketch. Repeat. — Katya Czaja

  3. This is marvelous! I can smell it all, and my tummy hurts. (Great rhythm and rhyme too… it reads effortlessly.)

  4. Were we at the fair together? I can never choose which of those yummy treats to buy! This year at our county fair, I enjoyed the maple cotton candy. Thank you for the giggles and deja vu feeling! a.

    • Glad you liked it, Amy! Ahh, maple cotton candy…first came across that up in St. Albans, VT back in ’90, and have been in love ever since.

      • I first found the maple cotton candy in the NH building at the Big E. It’s almost Big E time, too! I can’t wait.

      • I remember working in the NH building one year at the Big E…a young couple refused to let their little girl have a cup of milk because we were using microwaves to warm the blueberry pie we were serving. It was then I realized there are some debates one should not attempt to try to win.

  5. I can almost smell the fair in the poem. I think I’ll be having garden salad for lunch today :) Nice Job!

  6. Tabatha on said:

    Delicious, Matt! Good job.

  7. Jennifer on said:

    Another great poem that transported me right in the middle of all those food trucks!

  8. I want a funnel cake. Have fun!

  9. Oh Matt, you had me at the loaded baked potato – my absolute absolute favourite – and with jalapeño! That was just wickedly teasing! You must have had such a grand time! :) I’m sure work isn’t ‘work’ for you. How lovely to be ‘hosting’ such an event as a live announcer. :)

  10. I’ve been to that fair. Maybe you were there? I hope your stomach settles down some after all those goodies!

  11. Delicious poem! I wish my stomach was as strong as yours. :-)

  12. Well done Matt. I hope you are enjoying the fair. Gosh and I was hoping for more new baby pictures. See ya soon.

    • Thank you all for your comments! Liz, that’s still on my list! Myra, I just finished this year’s potato, and it was just as divine as those of years past. BJ, it’s possible – I’ve been working at the fair for 4 or 5 years now, but have been attending long before that. Carmela, this thing stuck between my esophagus and duodenum is cast-iron! And Joy, don’t worry – I’m sure there will be PLENTY more where those came from!

  13. maryleehahn on said:

    Very fun! But…now I’m hungry for fair food!!

  14. haitiruth on said:

    Fun poem, but it made my stomach hurt!

  15. As I was reading this, I was quite sure that the line after “cotton candy, caramel apples, schnitzel on a stick” was going to be something about being sick. Fun poem, Matt, just wish I hadn’t read it with a full stomach. ;)

Leave a Reply

Laura Purdie Salas

writing the world for kids

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

The Drawer Of M. M. Socks

Stories - Tall and Short for the Tall and Short

Catherine M Johnson

Feed your imagination here

You've Got Your Hands Full

Just another WordPress.com site

Jama's Alphabet Soup

an eclectic feast of food, fiction and folderol

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Julie True Kingsley's Blog

Musings on really nothing...

Dave Courvoisier's Blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Florian Cafe

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

sharon abra hanen

children's literature, poetry, & other magical creative stuff

crackles of speech.............. poems for all ages................... by steven withrow

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

J.S. Gilbert

Copywriting, Advertising Creative, Voice Over Talent and a few surprises

The Poem Farm

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

DAN O’DAY TALKS ABOUT RADIO

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,348 other followers

