Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Poetry Friday: “Walking Among Stars”

If you read my post from earlier this week about my fantastic trip to a Highlights writer’s workshop, you know how inspiring those 4 days were. If you didn’t get a chance to read it, I encourage you to do so – even if you just skim the good parts!  It was one of the best professional experiences of my life, and I can’t say enough about the staff, the workshop leaders, and my 14 fellow writers.

I managed to write a number of poems because of that trip, and this is one of them.  I hope you like it! And for all of the Poetry Friday links and info (along with a powerful and somber poem about Jan Palach, the Czech citizen who set himself on fire in 1969 to protest the Soviet invasion), please visit Laura Purdie Salas’ blog!

ID-10017569 (Fall leaves & trees)

“Walking Among Stars”

I watched the leaves turn yesterday
one by one and tree by tree,
like little rainbow-colored stars
falling from the sky for me.

From all around they tumbled down,
dainty painted-paper suns…
I slowly strolled through red and gold.
I was one of the mighty ones.

- © 2013, Matt Forrest Esenwine

===================================================================

PoetsGarage-badgeDid you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it!  To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week - on Tues. and Fri. - so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)  Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter , Facebook, Pinterest, and SoundCloud!

Single Post Navigation

35 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Walking Among Stars”

  1. You certainly were inspired Matt! This is lovely! Dainty paper-painted suns -wonderful!

  2. Very poetic, Matt. Lovely poem.

  3. Gorgeous, Matt! That workshop served you well! I love the line, “One by one and tree by tree.”

  4. That last line — unexpected and glorious for an outdoorsy child to read.

  5. Beautiful, Matt. Love the emotional resonance in the last line.

  6. I love dainty painted-paper suns. I’m glad you enjoyed the workshop so much.

  7. Janet F. on said:

    Hi Matt,
    I wish I had been at David’s workshop, too. I loved the energy I felt just being there for an hour. It was nice to meet you. I hope to get there next fall. I really LOVE this poem and especially to use with kids. So, with your permission, I will share it this week. They already have seen and enjoyed your “First Time for Everything” about how the leaves made a pile on you!!! In this poem I like how the leaves are falling just for you. It captures our personal connection to nature and gets us to see that everyone has a similar connection (well, if they are lucky enough to experience the breath-taking beauty of autumn!). Bravo and happy for your wonderful experience.

    • It was nice meeting you, too, Janet – we could have all talked the rest of the day! And I’m glad you liked this one. Feel free to share it! (and by the way, what did the kids think of the other one?)

  8. Love your images, Matt. That autumn time was very magical, like Julie above says about your poem. Love this: “dainty painted-paper suns”. Exactly right!

  9. Matt, you’ve given me a new way to be when I walk through fall leaves. I’m glad I got to meet you at David’s workshop.

  10. I love strolling through red and gold in fall, too. Very nice poem, Matt!

  11. Great autumn images in this, Matt. Love the leaves as “painted-paper suns.”

  12. paper painted suns
    ::sigh::
    Lovely imagery.

    • Thank you, all! I really do appreciate it.

      • Janet F. on said:

        Hi Matt,
        Just a quick note! The kids like your poem. They especially like the “reversal” in your poem, seeing a different POV, thinking “out of the box” etc. We have only had two times on it, so I will know more when I visit this week. Especially when I offer a second one by you. They love that. They feel like they have a “friend” when they get a second poem from the same poet! This particular class is extra-enthusiastic in general, but they adore the poetry. I can’t wait to see what I can accomplish even in the era of CCSS and teachers under the stress of APPR. My friend says poetry time is the best part of the week sometimes! Literally, they cheered when I walked in last Thurs. and I say this not in a bragging way….it’s the poetry, not me!!
        Smiling!

      • I’m so glad they liked it, Janet! All I can say is, keep up the good work – poets everywhere thank you!

  13. I love autumn and autumn poems, but it’s hard to be fresh in them–they’ve been done so much. This one’s a keeper–especially: dainty painted-paper suns… Fabulous image!

  14. margaretsmn on said:

    I see you standing mighty, hands outstretched catching rainbow stars. Love it!

  15. This is wonderfully imaginative!

  16. I love fall walks when the leaves are raining down on me! You captured it beautifully!

  17. Those “dainty painted paper suns” are one of the reasons I love fall so much. Late in the afternoon, everything seems to glow. Wonderful poem, Matt! Thanks for sharing.

  18. I was going to write about how much I love that “dainty painted paper suns” line, but I guess I won’t since you’ve already heard it from about a dozen others!

    Oops. ;)

  19. haitiruth on said:

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Laura Purdie Salas

writing the world for kids

Eat This Poem

a literary food blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

The Drawer Of M. M. Socks

Stories - Tall and Short for the Tall and Short

Catherine Johnson

Poems for kids of all ages and dreamers everywhere

You've Got Your Hands Full

Just another WordPress.com site

Jama's Alphabet Soup

an eclectic feast of food, fiction and folderol

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

The blog of children's author Tara Lazar

Julie True Kingsley's Blog

Musings on really nothing...

Dave Courvoisier's Blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

sharon abra hanen

children's literature, poetry, & other creative magical stuff

crackles of speech.............. poems for all ages................... by steven withrow

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

J.S. Gilbert

Copywriting, Advertising Creative, Voice Over Talent and a few surprises

The Poem Farm

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

DAN O’DAY TALKS ABOUT RADIO

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,186 other followers

