Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Poetry Friday: “Cat Breath”

I was going through some of my old(er) poetry and stumbled upon a short poem I wrote almost exactly 13 years ago, in late Feb. 2001.

At the time, we had a cat my daughter had named Dozey – a black kitty poetryfridaybutton-fulllwho always looked like he was napping, even when he was awake! Anyway, he had come over to me and started rubbing his face in mine, as cats often do, and it was at that moment I was struck by how horrendously putrid his breath was – we’re talking eye-tearing, nose-numbing, knock-a-buzzard-off-a-manure-wagon bad.

When I finally regained consciousness, I set about writing my experience down in verse. This is what I came up with. And for more fun, Anasatasia Suen has the complete poetry Friday roundup at her blog, Poet!

Cat Breath (for Dozey)

A cross between some tuna fish
and salmon three days old;
perhaps some stinky cheddar cheese
that’s growing fuzzy mold.
A whiff of bird, a hint of mouse,
the sour milk he had…
what is that one ingredient
that makes cat breath so bad??

© 2001, Matt Forrest Esenwine

===================================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!

PoetsGarage-badgeTo keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)  Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

 

Single Post Navigation

25 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Cat Breath”

  1. Love this, Matt! Our cat, Cupcake, has putrid breath, too. Personally, I think it’s her tongue that’s to blame, though I’m not about to make a list of the culprits that I think linger there.

  2. Ugh-did you run for a tiny toothbrush? Well said!

  3. Tee hee. I had a black kitty named Luca. She drooled. Loved her. I enjoyed picturing you regaining consciousness and immediately putting pen to paper. Thanks for the giggles. Here’s to black kitties everywhere!

    • Thanks, folks! Renee, my daughter Lauren subsequently had ANOTHER all-black cat, which we were struggling to name – until I came up with Nosferatu, which was perfect, as he looked like a little bat when you held him up! His nickname was Nosey…and he was exactly that, too!

  4. Hi, Matt–

    Nice lines! I’m pleased to say that none of our cats, black or otherwise, have had awful cat breath. I didn’t even know that was a thing!

    I want to let you know that I have nominated you for a Sunshine Award (which just means I like your blog). It’s fun if you have the time! Go to my post this week to find out how it works.

    http://myjuicylittleuniverse.blogspot.com/2014/02/sunshine-part-2.html

    • Thanks, Heidi, I’m glad I bring some sunshine to your Juicy Little Universe! It’s going to require some brain power to come up with bloggers and questions…so let me work on it, and I’ll let you know when I post mine!

  5. Seriously. The are so elegant but that breath!

  6. Cute poem! Glad your cat had stinky breath or where would the poem be? All our cats so far have seemed to have minty fresh breath – fortunately!

  7. Giggling! Firepaw is not insulted…but I will not be showing this poem to Bonfire, because it may as well be about him. Maybe it’s the dead birds? So funny, Matt, and spot on! Happy Poetry Friday…

  8. Buffy Silverman on said:

    Holding my nose, Matt! Thanks for the fun read.

  9. Eeew indeed! It must have been a surreal experience stumbling upon old poems. I can imagine a lot of boys who would enjoy Cat Breath. :)

  10. maryleehahn on said:

    You had me at the title. HA! Perfect poem. Going to hug my kitty now and see if I can detect that secret ingredient. Kibble, perhaps? Or slime of hairball?

  11. I enjoyed your intro as much as your poem– “knock-a-buzzard-off-a-manure-wagon bad”? Wow. Let me know if you figure out that one ingredient!

Leave a Reply

Laura Purdie Salas

writing the world for kids

Deborah Blake Dempsey

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

The Drawer Of M. M. Socks

Stories - Tall and Short for the Tall and Short

Catherine M Johnson

Feed your imagination here

You've Got Your Hands Full

Just another WordPress.com site

Jama's Alphabet Soup

an eclectic feast of food, fiction and folderol

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Julie True Kingsley's Blog

Musings on really nothing...

Dave Courvoisier's Blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Florian Cafe

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

sharon abra hanen

children's literature, poetry, & other magical creative stuff

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

J.S. Gilbert

Copywriting, Advertising Creative, Voice Over Talent and a few surprises

The Poem Farm

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

DAN O’DAY TALKS ABOUT RADIO

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,369 other followers

