Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Poetry Friday: “Problem Solved”

poetryfridaybutton-fulllA few years ago, my daughter Katie was walking home from school when something unusual and shocking happened.

She met a moose.

Keep in mind, that here in rural New Hampshire, moose are not uncommon; however, coming upon one only 15 or 20 feet away from you is not only startling, it can be dangerous. If one decides to charge at you, you’d better hope your health insurance is current. If not, it’ll be your life insurance that will be getting tapped.

Image courtesy of puttsk / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

As she tells the story, she was only about a half-mile from the house, minding her own business, looking at her iPod, when she looked up and saw a giant moose about 15-20 feet away, standing by the side of the road. She stopped cold, and had no idea what to do. As she watched the moose, it looked at her and then sauntered past, into the woods.

Needless to say, she made it home as fast as she could and told us the story.

It got me thinking about what kind of story I could create, poetically…and this is what I eventually came up with! Want more to read? Check out Diane Mayr’s blog, Random Noodling, for the complete Poetry Friday roundup!

Problem Solved

On a bike ride to school one day who should I meet
but a moose on the opposite side,
and he seemed rather tired when he stopped and inquired
if I’d possibly give him a ride.

Well, I tried to oblige, but because of his size
there was not enough room on the seat.
So we then both agreed and decided that he’d
take the pedals and I’d use my feet.

- © 201o, Matt Forrest Esenwine

===================================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!

PoetsGarage-badgeTo keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)  Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Problem Solved”

  1. dmayr on said:

    Yikes, Matt! I can understand if you lived up in Pittsburg, but aren’t you a little closer to the southern border? Great use of rhyme!

    • Yes, we’re in the Concord area. Honestly though, Diane, I’ve been to Pittsburg and Lancaster, lived in Littleton, visited Moosehead Lake in Maine…and the only moose I’ve ever seen have been here and in Dunbarton!

  2. I remember this one from the last time you posted it. I love the quirkiness of it. Such a fun poem for kids– wouldn’t it be fun to illustrate too?!!

    BTW, I don’t know if you saw my reply to your comment on TLD, but I would happily still include your cinquain if you can send it to me no later than tomorrow!

    • Crud, I didn’t realize I had previously posted this, Michelle! I searched through my blog and couldn’t find it anywhere. >sigh<

      How do you prefer I get it to you? email, or just post it in the comments?

      • That’s so funny, Matt, because I just entered “moose” in your search widget in the sidebar and got it right away. It was last November, but it’s definitely a poem worth repeating! Posting your cinquain in the comments on TLD would be great.

      • Wow, you’re right! I don’t know how I missed that! And thanks for accepting the cinquain – I’ll post it in your blog comments in a few minutes!

  3. Janet F. on said:

    OH, she was wise and lucky and I love how you made “lemons out of lemonade”. If a moose wanted to ride my bike, I would eagerly defer to his/her desires. Was the one she saw about the same size as the one in the picture you have up? Gives me the “willies”. I hope to never see a moose in person thank you very much!

  4. What an experience! Once saw a moose in NH from a distance — up on a hillside behind a McDonald’s. He was probably considering the drive through window. :)

    Fun poem!

  5. What a delightful poem. I love your rhythm and rhyme. Seems like a real kid pleaser.

  6. Thank you for sharing this and for putting a smile on my face. I love the rhythm and rhyme and it’s just plain fun!

  7. maryleehahn on said:

    I SO want to see a moose in real life someday! I guess until then, I’ll have to live vicariously through your stories and poems!

  8. I’m with Mary Lee, and would love to happen upon one of these some day – hopefully one as amiable as this one.

Leave a Reply

Laura Purdie Salas

writing the world for kids

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

The Drawer Of M. M. Socks

Stories - Tall and Short for the Tall and Short

Catherine M Johnson

Feed your imagination here

You've Got Your Hands Full

Just another WordPress.com site

Jama's Alphabet Soup

an eclectic feast of food, fiction and folderol

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Julie True Kingsley's Blog

Musings on really nothing...

Dave Courvoisier's Blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Florian Cafe

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

sharon abra hanen

children's literature, poetry, & other magical creative stuff

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

J.S. Gilbert

Copywriting, Advertising Creative, Voice Over Talent and a few surprises

The Poem Farm

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

DAN O’DAY TALKS ABOUT RADIO

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,363 other followers

