Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Poetry Friday: “Baby Girl”

Hard to believe, but my youngest daughter, Phoebe, turns ONE YEAR OLD today! Where have the past 365 days gone??

Phoebe - happy

Phoebe, a pretty darned happy baby at 3 months old. I’m guessing it’s because of the John Deere tractor pajamas.

In celebration, I’m sharing something a little unusual. It’s a poem I wrote for her…but I’m not sure if it’s done. It might be. Can’t tell. I didn’t think it was complete when I  stopped writing it, but perhaps it is. I wanted to write another stanza, perhaps fix the rhymes or make some other changes, but I got stalled and was never able to complete it. Now, after looking at it again, I wonder if these 4 lines are all the poem needs?

Of course, it doesn’t really matter, since I’ll probably continue tinkering with it ’til the day I die – that’s what I do with most of my poems, already, so why should this one be any different?

By the way, in case you’re wondering why I’m not sharing a better or more recent photo of her, it’s because this was the photo that inspired me to start writing the poem. She looked so tiny there, and she was probably at least 10 or 12 pounds! Boy, time doesn’t just fly – it teleports. Oh, and if you’re looking for more poetry, my fellow Poet’s Garage member Heidi Mordhorst is hosting Poetry Friday today at her Juicy Little Universe!

Baby Girl

Enthusiasm boundless,
excitement inexhaustible,
anything is possible
for you, sweet little one.

- © 2014, Matt Forrest Esenwine

===================================================================

poetryfridaybutton-fulllDid you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!

PoetsGarage-badgeTo keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)  Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

Single Post Navigation

18 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Baby Girl”

  1. maryleehahn on said:

    What a smile! What a bundle of potential! Happy Birth-Day to you and your wife (and a happy birthday to Phoebe, of course)!

  2. Fantastic smile! Worthy of a poem. :-) I would like for it to be a little longer, if the spirit moves you.

    • Thanks, Tabatha. Part of me wants to add a 2nd stanza or flesh it out more, but part of me likes the fact that the reader expects more to come – because her entire life is ahead of her. Dilemmas, dilemmas…

  3. It’s a lovely poem that captures what she was and will be, Matt. Maybe this one will accompany that wonderful photo, and then another poem will be written for another picture? Happy Birthday to Phoebe! Yes, time flies. My grandson will be 13 next week!

  4. Ooh–do that thing in poetry what that guy did taking a photo of his daughter every single day or week or whatever it was! Write a stanza for her every year and give it to her on her 21st birthday. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ejbNVWES4LI

  5. Perfect – poem, photograph, and (especially) Phoebe.

  6. Matt- both the poem and your daughter are absolutely adorable. Don’t change a thing!

  7. I love that just as it is. Happy Birthday to Phoebe.

  8. I am stealing Heidi’s idea! That’s wonderful! And so is your poem, Matt. I think you’re right about the John Deere jammies, but she’s probably pretty happy with her choice of parents, too. :)

  9. Karen Edmisten on said:

    What a sweet poem for your sweet girl. Love it.

  10. Joyce Ray on said:

    Ah, the face of love and absolute trust. It’s really a poem for her future, too, isn’t it? How blessed we are to love in a country where Phoebe’s poem has truth.

  11. Matt, Happy birthday to Phoebe, and everyone else. As for the poem, if brevity is the essence of wit, I do believe that you’ve captured wit. I do agree with the cool idea of adding a stanza each year for another 20 years. What an incredible gift to Phoebe that would be!

    • Thank you all for your comments! It’s been a busy weekend and I’m just now finally getting online to catch up, but I really appreciate you taking the time to stop by. I’ll have to see what I come up with next year!

Leave a Reply

Laura Purdie Salas

writing the world for kids

Deborah Blake Dempsey

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

The Drawer Of M. M. Socks

Stories - Tall and Short for the Tall and Short

Catherine M Johnson

Feed your imagination here

You've Got Your Hands Full

Just another WordPress.com site

Jama's Alphabet Soup

an eclectic feast of food, fiction and folderol

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Julie True Kingsley's Blog

Musings on really nothing...

Dave Courvoisier's Blog

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Florian Cafe

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

sharon abra hanen

children's literature, poetry, & other magical creative stuff

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

J.S. Gilbert

Copywriting, Advertising Creative, Voice Over Talent and a few surprises

The Poem Farm

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

DAN O’DAY TALKS ABOUT RADIO

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,375 other followers

