Poetry Friday: What kept me busy during National Poetry Month

I know, I know…National Poetry Month ended more than two Fridays ago. But between editing interviews, attending the NESCBWI conference, taking care of my 3-year-old, AND trying to make a living as a voice artist, things are bound to slip through the cracks.

poetryfridaybutton-fulllToday, I’m pulling a few of the poems I wrote during the month of April out of the cracks! I don’t normally share more than one poem each Friday, but these are all fairly short – and since they were written not just during National Poetry Month, but because of National Poetry Month – I figured posting them together made sense.  The first two were written from poetry writing prompts posted by Laura Purdie Salas at her blog, Writing the World for Kids and the last one was actually the first one I wrote, just as the month had begun.

For all the Poetry Friday links, please visit Anastasia Suen!

The Snail and the Sloth

A snail and a sloth
decided to race,
so each one set out
at his usual pace.
Friends rooted them on
with great fanfare and cheers,
and we should have a winner
in a…
…couple…

…………………o  f…

……………………………..…y     e     a     r     s……

.

Last Page

I may not have an exposition
To try to pull you in,
I really can’t do much to keep
The plot from wearing thin,
I have no thrilling denouement
To quench your growing thirst,
But I am proud that I’m the one
You want to turn to first.

.

Changing of the Guards

Scarecrow guards
his harvest gourds,
a touch of sadness on his face;
once the wreath
and holly’s hung,
the snowman comes to take his place.

.

– all poems © 2013, Matt Forrest Esenwine

22 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: What kept me busy during National Poetry Month

  1. Your poems always read so well, Matt. I really love Changing of the Guard and these lines:

    “Scarecrow guards
    his harvest gourds,”

    Sorry I missed you at the conference. I was a Sunday only attendee this time. I, too, loved Padma’s remark about writers and schizophrenia!

    Like

  2. I like all three of these. My favorite is “Last Page.” I have never been one to turn to the last page first, but I have students who do. One told me she had to find out if the book ended sadly, because if it did, she wasn’t going to read it.

    Like

  3. Last Page – I think of my sixth graders attempting writing fiction for the first time these dayswhen I read this one Matt – brilliant, and accurate.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Singing Contest | Poet! Poet!

  5. Pingback: May 10, 2013 Poetry Friday is here! | Booktalking #kidlit: Anastasia Suen's Blog

Leave a Reply

