Poetry Friday: “Jack’s Lament”

poetryfridaybutton-fulllI admit it, I’ve been on a zeno binge.

The zeno is a new poetic form created by former U.S. Children’s Poet Laureate J. Patrick Lewis, and if you have not heard about it, you can find all the details about how it was created at poet/author Michelle H. Barnes’ blog – in fact, she’s hosting Poetry Friday today!

You can see the zeno I wrote for last week’s Poetry Friday post HERE. As for today’s offering…

Jacks Lament (image)
(click to enlarge)
===================================================================
Cybils-Logo-2014-Rnd2Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
PoetsGarage-badgeTo keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)  Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

16 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Jack’s Lament”

  1. Matt, I see you had fun with your Halloween zeno. I enjoyed Jack’s Lament. The photo got me in the mood. I also played with a pumpkin photo turned into a graphic with a five-word ditty. I am looking forward to seeing how you “find fall” this season.

    Like

    1. Thank you! It’s easier if you break it down a bit: the 1st line is 4 beats / 4 beats, then 4/2/1 from there…which is not too dissimilar to iambic (or in this case, trochaic) tetrameter.

      Like

    1. Yes! Someone picked up on that! Ha, thanks for noticing, Laura – I initially wasn’t going to write that line quite that way, but then thought the internal rhyme might work. Glad you thought so!

      Like

Leave a Reply

