Poetry Friday: “No-Moon Day”

poetryfridaybutton-fulllI’m continuing to celebrate the release of the newest Poetry Friday Anthology, The Poetry Friday Anthology for Celebrations, which just became available a week ago, with another one of my poems that didn’t make it!

PFAC-front-cover-Nov-30-WEB-jpeg-705x1030

While I’m very proud that my poem for National Cereal Day, “Picky Eater,” DID make the cut, I figured my poems that weren’t so fortunate might never see the light of day – so what better reason to share them, right?

Diwali (also called Deepavali) is the 5-day-long Indian festival of lights, one of the biggest and most important festivals for Hindus. Spiritually, it recognizes the victory of light over darkness – which is why it coincides with the day of the new moon (known as the “darkest night”) during the Hindu month of Kartika, between late October and early November (this year, it falls on Nov. 11).

In The Poetry Friday Anthology for CelebrationsUma Krishnaswami shares a touching, autobiographical poem titled, “Deepavali Sounds,” and it’s one of the many reasons I hope you’ll enjoy this book! Here is my take on the festival:

No-Moon Day

Set the candles,
light the lamps!
May Peace and Joy come soon,
and drive away the darkness
of the day without a moon.

– © Matt Forrest Esenwine, 2014

mmpoetry2015-logo-mainInteresting that Hinduism, Christianity, and Judaism all have major celebrations revolving around the same light/darkness theme, all around the same time of year, isn’t it? You can learn more about Diwali HERE, and for today’s complete Poetry Friday round-up, head on over to Reading to the Core, where Catherine Flynn is holding down the fort.

Also, be sure to check out the Madness that is the #MMPoetry competition over at Ed DeCaria’s place, Think Kid, Think! Log on and vote for your favorite poems!

===================================================================
Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
PoetsGarage-badgeTo keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)  Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

21 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “No-Moon Day”

  1. Pingback: SOL: Poetry Friday is Here! | Reading to the Core

  2. This is beautiful, Matt, that ‘day without a moon’. A long time ago our school began having a “festival of light” because we have more than one culture and wanted to celebrate all the light that comes into our worlds via our particular religions. You are right, “light” is important in them all. It’s a special day for us. I’ll note this poem for next year. I just got my Celebrations book. Have been so busy at school, I’ve not opened it yet, but congrats again for your poem there.

    Like

  3. maryleehahn

    Yes, light and dark seem to be at the core of all religions. You captured the idea of it perfectly in your poem, but Uma definitely gave the rich details that only someone who’s celebrated it could give!

    (I, too, will have to dig up some of my poems that didn’t make the cut…!!)

    Like

  4. I’ve been having such a great time leafing through the PFA for Celebrations and reading all the poems. Sharing some of the others that didn’t make it in here on your blog is a terrific idea. Interesting history about Diwali — I like your No-Moon Day poem!

    Like

  5. As a person who added six windows to the original plan for our house (much to my husband’s dismay), I’m all for “driving away darkness.” I’m so glad you shared this today, and congratulations on your National Cereal Day poem being included in the anthology!

    Like

  6. Keri

    Your poem has a celebratory feel, Matt. I like the sense of the deeper meaning — it almost begs to be a picture book: The Day with No Moon. 🙂

    Like

      1. There are quite a number of Hindus here with Indians making up a third of the major population in Singapore (Chinese – Malays – Indians – Others – in that order), hence Diwali is huge here.

        Like

Leave a Reply

