Poetry Friday: My “Poetry…Cubed!” entry

National-Poetry-Month-Logo (2015)

It’s Poetry Friday, and today’s roundup can be found at Robyn Hood Black’s little corner of the web, Life on the Deckle Edge. Robyn shares a brief interview with Sylvia Vardell and Janet Wong, the creative team behind The Poetry Friday Anthology for Celebrations from Pomelo Books, of which Robyn and I are both contributors.

Poetry Cubed logoThis past Tuesday, I shared a new poetry challenge…and I’m looking forward to seeing what you can come up with! If you missed it, it’s my take on the Food Network show, “Chopped!” But instead of using surprise ingredients from a basket to create a meal, you need to use three photo prompts to create ONE fantastic poem!

(Get all the details HERE!)

Before we go any further…here are the three images (Feel free to click any of the images to enlarge them):

theatre seat (Katie)Flowers & BeeMonster Truck

So the challenge is to craft a poem utilizing all three of these images – either via imagery, reference, or even perhaps something abstract. Here’s a first draft of my poem, which I wrote Thursday afternoon:

Date Night

The movie had already started
when I walked in.
Opening credits were rolling
as cold sweat dropped
from a wax-paper cup and streamed
along the back of my hand,
onto the floor.
I found a seat
far in the back
near the door
so as not to bring attention to myself
as the one interrupting
The Monster Lies.

Alone in my row,
I groused about missing the previews
and first scene,
wishing I’d had the time
to settle in a little
closer
to the screen.
Below me, teens on first dates
and married couples out
for a night without kids
dotted the auditorium
in parallel lines
like so many flower heads
waiting to be picked.

Inches from the corner of my eye,
cold sweat dropped
from a wax-paper cup
onto the back of a hand.
As I looked up, she smiled
and found a seat
between the door
and me
so as not to bring attention
to herself. I offered
some popcorn, glad she hadn’t
had the time
to settle in a little
closer
to the screen.

– © Matt Forrest Esenwine, 2015

.
Full disclosure: Now that I’m done editing this post, this is actually a second draft – writers of poetry just can’t stop tinkering! Think you can create an appetizing poem out of these three ingredients? I’ll bet you can.

Remember, the winners will be chosen at random – so don’t worry about whether you think the poem is good enough or not – the point is to just have fun and stretch your skills a little bit!

Email your poems to Matt (at) MattForrest (dot) com, and I’ll share them all on Tue., April 28! (You can refresh your memory about the rules HERE)

===================================================================

Irene Latham’s annual Progressive Poem continues to grow! Each day, a different person adds a line to the poem – and today, that person is my fellow Poet’s Garage member, Buffy Silverman. Then on April 30, it’ll be my turn to add the final line!

You can see how the 2015 Progressive Poem has been developing at the following blog spots:

2015ProgressivePoem1 Jone at Check it Out
2 Joy at Poetry for Kids Joy
3 Heidi at My Juicy Little Universe
4 Laura at Writing the World for Kids
5 Charles at Poetry Time Blog
6 Ramona at Pleasures from the Page
7 Catherine at Catherine Johnson
8 Irene at Live Your Poem
9 Mary Lee at Poetrepository
10 Michelle at Today’s Little Ditty
11 Kim at Flukeprints
12 Margaret at Reflections on the Teche
13 Doraine at DoriReads
14 Renee at No Water River
15 Robyn at Life on the Deckle Edge
16 Ruth at There is No Such Thing as a Godforsaken Town
17 Buffy at Buffy’s Blog
18 Sheila at Sheila Renfro
19 Linda at Teacher Dance
20 Penny at A Penny and her Jots
21 Tara at A Teaching Life
22 Pat at Writer on a Horse
23 Tamera at The Writer’s Whimsy
24 Tricia at The Miss Rumphius Effect
25 Tabatha at The Opposite of indifference
26 Brian at Walk the Walk
27 Jan at Bookseedstudio
28 Amy at The Poem Farm
29 Donna at Mainely Write
30 Matt at Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

===================================================================
Poetry_Friday logoDid you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
PoetsGarage-badgeTo keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)  Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

20 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: My “Poetry…Cubed!” entry

  1. I’ll try to find a poem for your challenge, Matt. Looks like fun, & as for yours, a lovely little romantic story, and love those ‘flower heads’! Must be thinking of spring, right?

    Like

  2. I’ll bet any of you all (“y’all”) above the Mason-Dixon line are eager for spring! (And even Linda this weekend, with that Colorado snow…) What a fun project! I had to read your poem a couple of times to discern the “monster” element… Ha!

    Like

  3. Heidi Mordhorst

    Hi, again, Matt–now that I’ve worked on my own entry (and thanks for saving my butt since I had no plan for Friday’s post), I can come back and appreciate yours! That’s the kind of story one wishes were actually true…is it?

    I like what you did with the cold sweat and the parallel lines and the flower heads–it works! As one who hates to miss the previews or be late to a movie, I have a consistency question: if you walk in while the opening credits are rolling, have you actually missed the first scene? (Answer may depend on the movie, of course…)

    Like

    1. Thank you, Heidi! I’m glad I was able to save you from the shame and embarrassment of not having a Poetry Friday post – anytime I can be of service, just let me know.

      As for the movie, no, not a true story, but I hope it reads like one. And the credits – well, yes, it depends. I’ve seen some movies start right off the bat, then go into the credits after the first scene. Personally, I feel like if I miss even the first preview, I haven’t gotten my money’s worth!

      Like

      1. No, thanks for asking. I just couldn’t swing two conference so close in time, and my family had planned to go to DC this weekend. Unfortunately, my middle child broke his foot. It’s even more important now that I stick close to home. I hope to do the follow up at RISD later on.

        Like

Leave a Reply

