Poetry Friday: 4 Poems in 4 Days

Poetry_Friday logoYou may have noticed that poetry has making the rounds on Facebook. Last week, I was tagged by my Lullaby & Kisses Sweet page-spread mate Heidi E.Y. Stemple to share 4 poems in 4 days. By accepting this challenge, I also had to “tag” four friends (Steven Withrow, Renee LaTulippe, Michelle Heidenrich Barnes, and Joy Acey) to do the same.

Now, the poems could be originals or previously published by me or someone else – but since I thought writing a new one each day was more of a challenge, that’s what I decided to do. Taking the theme of springtime in the forest, I decided on four different poems, four different forms, four different days. Then life got in the way.

I spent most of my weekend driving between cities to help my ailing parents, one of whom is in a nursing home and one of whom was in the hospital. So as it turned out, I ended up sharing three new poems, and had to pull a previously-written one from a couple years ago, which had been based on a prompt from author/poet David L. Harrison:

…..Forest Dawn
……..(lanturne)

………….Sun
……..and thrush
warm the woods;
..help shake off cold
………….dew

.

New Hampshire, Spring (tanka)

Drone bees search a queen;
tom turkey struts the treeline
white-tailed buck defends
while sparrow sings a ballad.
All woodland, looking for love.

.

May in New England (light verse)

The weather gods are crazy –
they must be drunk or lost –
was 83 degrees today,
tonight we’re getting frost.

.

– all poems © 2015, Matt Forrest Esenwine

.

The Old Man and the Rain

The old man stares through window glass;
another rainy day.
He tries to catch a glimpse of sun,
but all he sees is grey.

He says a secret, silent prayer
to wish the rain away.
Although the man has work to do,
the boy would like to play.

.
– © 2013, Matt Forrest Esenwine

 .

Margaret Simon at Reflections on the Teche is hosting Poetry Friday today, so head on over for all the links, poetry, and info on new prompts and writing challenges!

===================================================================
Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
PoetsGarage-badgeTo keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)  Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

14 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: 4 Poems in 4 Days

  1. I missed that first one, which is wonderful, Matt, like the others. But I like the last one very much, too, poignant. I’m sorry about the stress with your parents. It isn’t easy I know, to care and worry and try to make good decisions. Good wishes for you!

    Like

  2. Hey Matt. Love your four poems. Did you see Larry Dane Brimner’s posts for the challenge? He named four people with each of his poems. 16 folks challenged in all.

    Like

  3. Thanks for sharing, Matt. I’ve enjoyed reading many of the challenge poems though had to dodge being tagged myself with other commitments this month. Sending thoughts and prayers for your family as you tend to your parents; and thinking of older folks, that last poem was touching.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Robyn. I wasn’t sure if I was going to have the time, myself – I don’t like just banging out a few lines of verse and calling it a “poem” – so I wanted to make sure that what I would write was something I’d be proud of, even if it was a short as that lanturne.

      Like

  4. margaretsmn

    I was tagged in the FB poetry madness, too. I love that you decided to write original poems. Sending prayers and healing thoughts for your parents.

    Like

  5. maryleehahn

    I was tagged, but couldn’t participate due to end of school madness. Seems like a lame excuse when you had such a full plate and managed to participate! Sorry to hear about your parents. When my mom gets to that point, it will be tricky with her in CO, me in OH and brother in CA.

    Like

    1. Well, there’s a reason why I kept the first three poems short! It sounds like you’ll indeed have a difficult time, with everyone being so far apart. As an only child, I’m fortunate mine are only 45 minutes away – but even that takes a toll when making the trek 2 and 3 times a week.

      Like

Leave a Reply

