Poetry Friday: “Shoreline Sunrise”

poetryfridaybutton-fulllEver since the family spent a week at York Beach, Maine, I’ve had the ocean on my mind. Then again, I have the ocean on my mind every day of every summer! Which explains today’s poem.

(By the way, if you missed this past Tuesday’s post about why I’m glad I’m not “lucky”…I hope you’ll take a few moments to check it out HERE!)

Shoreline Sunrise”

Seaweed strands
dance in the tidewater,
following the lead
of the undertow, while into
……churning
………………surf
a hermit crab scurries
as if he knows
……something
is about to happen.

– © 2015 Matt Forrest Esenwine, all rights reserved

Catherine at Reading to the Core is hosting Poetry Friday today, so rest assured there’s lots more poetry to be found!

=========================================================
Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
SCVBWI_Member-badge (5 years)
To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)
 .
Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

14 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Shoreline Sunrise”

  1. I’m still at the ocean, Matt, sad to leave. Your poem captures something for me, too. There are ghost crabs here, so we’ve gone down at night to see them appear. They hide during the day. I love that beginning “Seaweed strands/dance in the tidewater”

    Like

  2. Matt, your poem takes me straight to the ocean tonight. Your opening is a wonderful entry in. I can visualize the strands and will see if they exist in the water tomorrow. Sometimes, the seaweed is thick and sometimes non-existent. I read your other piece and say kudos for your tenacity.

    PS: I got your redo. No problems. If you have a photo to go with today’s poem let’s place it in the gallery.

    Like

Leave a Reply

