Poetry Friday: An excerpt from “Dear Tomato”

Poetry_Friday logoEarlier this year, I was pleased to announce that one of the first children’s books I had the pleasure of contributing to had just hit stores. Dear Tomato: An International Crop of Food & Agriculture Poems – edited by Carol-Ann Hoyte – was finally available!

And although I continued to promote this collection of children’s poems, I just realized a few weeks ago I’ve never shared any of my poems from the book here. Time to do something about that!

I am very proud to have three poems included in the book, including this one:

Fair is Fair
(a lesson in Fair Trade)

Mother’s coffee,
Father’s tea,
Sister’s cocoa…
all might be
a farmer’s only
chance to give
his family
a chance to live.

– © 2015 Matt Forrest Esenwine, all rights reserved

Dear Tomato coverI hope you’ll pick up a copy of Dear Tomato, if you haven’t already. Just click the cover graphic and you’ll be whisked away to Amazon-land!

I also hope you’ll check out all the Poetry Friday links at Heidi Mordhorst’s little home on the web, My Juicy Little Universe. Today, it’s a diverse universe of verse! Check it out and you’ll see what I mean.

Oh, and if you didn’t get a chance to read my post from this past Tuesday, please take just a couple minutes and learn about why I’m encouraging folks to #WriteLikeNoOneIsReading. If you deliberately write without an audience in mind, it can be very liberating…so come learn more!

=========================================================
Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
SCVBWI_Member-badge (5 years)
To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)Cybils-Logo-2015-Web-Sm
 .
Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

11 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: An excerpt from “Dear Tomato”

  1. I love the simple truth of this one, Matt–I think I’ll print it out and take it to my congregation today, to post above the table where fair trade coffee, tea and cocoa are sold!

    I also enjoyed going back to #writelikenooneisreading. Interestingly, my experience with the youngest children is that they ALL want to share their writing! That’s why I think it’s so important to begin Writing Workshop with a bang in kindergarten, so that confidence is built while the developmental urge to share is strong and the audience response provides affirmation for the serious effort of writing. I hope this conversation continues….

    Like

  2. maryleehahn

    True, that.

    I shared this anthology (and my poems in it) with my class last week during Poetry Friday. They were tickled pink to read my words aloud to the class!

    Like

Leave a Reply

