Poetry Friday: “Front Porch”

I just put the finishing touches on my 5-year-old’s Tyrannosaurus Rex costume (every year it seems I need to engage in a major feat of engineering for his outfits – last year, he went as a biplane!), so I thought I’d share a little something for Halloween.

I hope you like it – and I hope you’ll “check out” Jone MacCulloch’s little home on the web, Check It Out, for all of today’s Poetry Friday links and fun!

Front Porch

I’m not surprised the jack o’lantern
has two glowing eyes.
I’m not surprised its jagged grin
has drawn a dozen flies.
I’m not surprised its hollow head
is blazing like a torch.
I am concerned, however,
that it’s floating off the porch!

– © 2015, Matt Forrest Esenwine, all rights reserved

=========================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
SCVBWI_Member-badge (5 years)
To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)Cybils-Logo-2015-Web-Sm
 .
Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

22 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Front Porch”

  1. margaretsmn

    Floating off the porch…scary. Thanks for being in the spirit of the season. I miss having young kids around when Trick or Treat comes around. My PF list says it’s Mary Lee this week, but Mary Lee says it’s Jone. Confused!

    Like

  2. amyludwigvanderwater

    Superfun, Matt. I love Halloween and costume making, and I love that you are making these. The kids will never forget. Thank you for the fun and just a wee bit spooky poem! Happy Halloween! 🙂

    Like

  3. Miss those days of creating costumes, and they were fun. Like others, hope you share some pictures, Matt. The poem is delightful, just the right touch of spooky. I’ve had fun driving the granddaughters around looking for wonderful decorations. Some streets seem to be “the” streets for amazing decor-very fun. Happy Halloween!

    Like

  4. Nice rhythm and rhyme there! And a cool ending!
    A bi-plane? Really? Where do they come up with these?
    I was a ghost. We had lots of old sheets at our nursing home… and in Maine you could wear your winter coat underneath and no one would know.
    Looks like we’re back to cold after that warm day a couple of days ago.

    Like

Leave a Reply

