Poetry Friday: winter haiku

poetryfridaybutton-fulllMy friend and fellow writer/blogger Buffy Silverman shared a photo on her Facebook page the other day. It was a beautiful shot of individual snowflakes that had just fallen during the early evening, and she titled the post, “snowflakes at dusk.”

I told her that was a darned good title for a poem!

As it turned out, she ended up posting a couple of poems with that title on her blog shortly before I posted this following poem on MY blog…which is great, because I can encourage you to check out her blog and see the photo and poems for yourself! (I’m actually working on a second poem, but it just has not come together the way I want it, so I can’t share it yet)

Hope you like it!

.

stars fall, cold, dead,
lit by living room window
snowflakes at dusk

– © 2015, Matt Forrest Esenwine, all rights reserved

For today’s complete Poetry Friday roundup, please visit Tabatha at The Opposite of Indifference!

=========================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
SCVBWI_Member-badge (5 years)
To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)Cybils-Logo-2015-Web-Sm
 .
Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

16 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: winter haiku

  1. Thinking winter without snowflakes and snow is a bit difficult for me but you have provided me with a beautiful visual that is aided by Buffy’s amazing post. Please consider offering a winter poem/photo for the next gallery that I will announce soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

