Poetry Friday: “January Thaw”

poetryfridaybutton-fulllBefore I get to today’s poem, I want to remind you that if you hadn’t had a chance to check out my interview with Irene Latham this past Tuesday – and my review of her new book, When the Sun Shines on Antarctica: And Other Poems from the Frozen Continent (Millbrook Press) – make sure you CLICK HERE to read it and enter to win your very own signed copy of the book!

So here we are, almost 3 weeks past January, and I just remembered I’d wanted to share this…but better late than never, right? I wrote this a few years ago, when the typical New England “January Thaw” lasted a few days – usually around the latter half of the month.  This year, the January Thaw was the entire month of January!

January Thaw

It happens every year.
Long before the robins sing,
when sky is bright and clear
one can catch a glimpse of spring.

Grass peeks through melting snow
as the air begins to warm.
We smile – and yet we know
pretty soon, another storm!

– © 2012, Matt Forrest Esenwine, all rights reserved

But wait – there’s still plenty more poetry around! You can visit Laura Shovan’s blog for the latest in her February prompt series, the Found Object Poem Project – see the projects, see what folks are writing, and then join in yourself!

And of course, be sure to stop by Donna Smith’s Mainely Write for the complete Poetry Friday roundup!

=========================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
SCVBWI_Member-badge (5 years)
To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)Cybils-Logo-2015-Web-Sm
 .
Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

12 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “January Thaw”

  1. Matt, I enjoyed your poem and like Donna held onto the line, “one can catch a glimpse of spring”. The ending line was the kicker though. It’s not over until it’s over! I truly enjoyed the interview with Irene Latham as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

