Poetry Friday: “Sledding”

national-poetry-month 2016

For some, winter may be behind us, but this past weekend we ended up with nearly 3 inches of snow and temperatures in the low-teens – so it really didn’t feel like spring! I’ve been meaning to share this poem for a couple years now and keep forgetting…so before spring actually DOES arrive, I thought I’d share it today:

Sledding

I love to sled,
I love to slide.
I find the biggest hill around
then jump aboard
my plastic ride
and start my journey toward the ground.

Racing down
a sheet of snow,
frozen cheeks and icy hair –
faster, faster,
here I go,
snowflakes flying everywhere!

Carve a turn!
Get it straight!
Don’t think I can take much more!
Wonder how I’ll stop,
but wait! –

……I guess…that’s what…this…
……………rock…
……………    ………is for……

– © 2016 Matt Forrest Esenwine, all rights reserved

Poetry_Friday logoIf you’re looking for more poetry, you’ll find the complete Poetry Friday roundup at Laura Purdie Salas’ home on the web, Writing the World for Kids, where she has some very putrid poetry! (not that her poetry is putrid – it’s really quite nice, actually – so you’ll just have to visit to see what I mean!)

========================================================

2016 Kidlit Progressive PoemIrene Latham‘s annual Progressive Poem continues all month long! A different writer adds a line each day, and on April 30 we’ll see how it ends. Today you can see how far we’ve come at Irene’s blog, Live Your Poem!

You can follow the 2015 Progressive Poem at the following blog spots:

April

1 Laura at Writing the World for Kids

2 Joy at Joy Acey

3 Doraine at Dori Reads

4 Diane at Random Noodling

5 Penny at A Penny and Her Jots

6 Carol at Beyond LiteracyLink

7 Liz at Elizabeth Steinglass

8 Janet F. at Live Your Poem

9 Margaret at Reflections on the Teche

10 Pat at Writer on a Horse

11 Buffy at Buffy’s Blog

12 Michelle at Today’s Little Ditty

13 Linda at TeacherDance

14 Jone at Deo Writer

15 Matt at Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

16 Violet at Violet Nesdoly

17 Kim at Flukeprints

18 Irene at Live Your Poem

19 Charles at Charles Waters Poetry

20 Ruth at There is No Such Thing as a Godforsaken Town

21 Jan at Bookseedstudio

22 Robyn at Life on the Deckle Edge

23 Ramona at Pleasures from the Page

24 Amy at The Poem Farm

25 Mark at Jackett Writes

26 Renee at No Water River

27 Mary Lee at Poetrepository

28 Heidi at My Juicy Little Universe

29 Sheila at Sheila Renfro

30 Donna at Mainely Write

========================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
SCVBWI_Member-badge (5 years)
To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)Cybils-Logo-2015-Web-Sm
 .
Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

27 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Sledding”

  1. Hehehe–love that ending! And carve a turn. And thanks for the reminder to check in on the Progressive Poem! I just walked the dog, and in 45 minutes, we had sun (blue skies in one direction), snow, and sleet. My cheeks and nose are still numb. Whew–spring in Minnesota:>)

    Like

    1. Sounds like spring in New Hampshire! Last Friday we had a record high of 77 in our capital, Concord, and 36 hours later we had 3 inches of snow and temps in the teens. Insane! Thanks for your thoughts on the poem…I appreciate you stopping by!

      Like

  2. maryleehahn

    Snow here, too, today. Not enough for sledding, though, so we’ll go unbruised this time! (fun poem, but sorry to hear it’s biographical!)

    Like

  3. Matt, I have never sledded, so I especially appreciate your poem, rock-stop and all. 🙂 Thank you! Also it reminds me of favorite book THE GIVER and favorite movie IT’S A WONDERFUL LIFE, both of which have sledding scenes – a commonality I never realized until just now! Maybe I was a snow fox in a past life? Happy spring!

    Like

    1. Irene, my dear Irene…we need to get you up here to go sledding!! It’s something every kid needs to do at some point in their life, no matter how young or old they are. Next time you leave the deep Alabama heat and head north, let me know and we’ll hit the hills!

      Like

Leave a Reply

