Poetry Friday: “Spring at Pond Meadow”

poetryfridaybutton-fulllAbout a week and a half ago, I shared a short video on my Facebook page, taken behind our house, along our property line. It was simply 10 seconds of a babbling brook, but it’s a quiet little place I like to go and bring the kids to relax and listen.

Today, I’m sharing something from the front of the house!

Actually, it’s right across the street from the front of our house. On the other side of the road, you see, a hay field and pond are home to a variety of frogs, ducks, snapping turtles, deer, Red-winged Blackbirds, and a Great Blue Heron – as well as a family of Canada Geese that has been growing the last few years:

Geese 2

Geese
(click either image to enlarge)

Five or six years ago, it was one pair of geese. This spring, I counted 5 pairs, most with their own gaggle of goslings, and one lone adult straggler. (Hey, there’s always that one confirmed bachelor in every family, right?)

So today, I thought I’d share a short poem I wrote about them. Hope you like it! And for all of today’s Poetry Friday links, head over to Julie Larios’ The Drift Record.

Spring at Pond Meadow

Goslings follow Mama’s lead,
through tall grass and jewel-weed;
Father watches wily fox
hiding kits from hungry hawks.

– © 2016, Matt Forrest Esenwine, all rights reserved

Oh, by the way…if you haven’t had a chance to read my post from this past Tuesday about using open submissions for inspiration, I hope you’ll check it out!

========================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
SCVBWI_Member-badge (5 years)
To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)
 .
Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

20 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Spring at Pond Meadow”

  1. I love watching the wildlife around here too (foxes are my favorite). You’re lucky to have geese and a confirmed bachelor among them. 🙂 Yours is a lovely springtime poem, of parenting the little ones. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. I see that you are noticing and wonder these days about nature, Matt. I like the imagery,rhyme, and rhythm in your poem. I look forward to what you will send me for Spring’s Seeds, Matt.

    Like

  3. What a glorious place to bring up young ones, human-animal and animal! Thanks for sharing your beautiful surroundings and your poem, Matt.

    You SO got me with the ‘trickster’ ending, thinking I would encounter a goose-hungry fox in the last line but instead encountering the fox just protecting its own young. ;0) We lived “out” for several years when the kids were growing up; the first spring there with a fox family and playful kits to watch was a special treat.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Robyn, I’m glad you liked it – and I didn’t mean to trick you, just wanted to show that everyone has a family and everyone has their enemies. Watching the fox family must have been enjoyable, indeed!

      Like

      1. In your poem, you talk about the male – the dad. “Father watches wily fox/ hiding kits from hungry hawks.” So many poems only talk about the mothers. We need to give more airtime to the dads. 🙂

        Like

  4. dmayr

    I’ll bet your kids will have great animal memories to carry with them when they one day leave the nest. Enjoy the experiences!

    Like

Leave a Reply

