Children’s poetry writing status report: full steam ahead!

One Minute coverWe are less then one month away from publication!

I’m so thrilled to be a part of Kenn Nesbitt’s new children’s poetry anthology, One Minute Till Bedtime (Little, Brown for Young Readers, 2016), which officially hits stores Nov. 1. The following week, I’ll be holding a couple of signings at local bookstores in my home state of New Hampshire, so if you’re in the area, I hope you’ll stop by! (Keep following this blog for more details)

The book is comprised of short, 60-second(ish) long poems for kids – a great way to encourage them to read poetry, of course, but also a nice, accessible way for parents to add in some poetry at the end of a day, after the kids have been read to and are tucked in bed.

As I have mentioned here before, I’ve been writing forever but only became serious about being published in children’s literature a mere 6 years ago…so the fact that I have already found myself sharing anthology pages with folks like J. Patrick Lewis, Jane Yolen, Nikki Grimes, Charles Ghigna, David Harrison, Jack Prelutsky, and so many more makes my head spin.

boyds logoI’ll also have another poem in an upcoming new Lee Bennett Hopkins anthology; another in a high-profile anthology due out in 2018; two poems in “Highlights for Kids” magazine; and three in a soon-to-be-published anthology coming out this fall, courtesy of poet/blogger Michelle H. Barnes.

In addition, my two debut picture books – Flashlight Night (Boyd’s Mills PressPow logo), illustrated by Fred Koehler, and Don’t Ask a Dinosaur (Pow! Kids Books), co-authored with my friend and critique group partner, Deb Bruss – are both scheduled for release in Fall 2017.

So thank you for being a part of all this…I couldn’t have done any of this without social media, and that means I couldn’t have done it without YOU. Blog readers, poetry fans, fellow writers, and Facebook/Twitter followers…whether you realize it or not, your support has helped me grow, improve, and become published.

Please know how much I appreciate it! I hope you’ll remain with me for all the fun stuff coming soon in the months and years to follow. Full steam ahead!!

========================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
SCVBWI_Member-badge (5 years)
To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)
 .
Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

 

2 thoughts on “Children’s poetry writing status report: full steam ahead!

  1. Pingback: Poetry Friday: “Clematis,” part of the Summerscapes Gallery! – Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Leave a Reply

