Rejection and dejection on a day of election

I received another rejection notice yesterday.

It was from a children’s book publisher I had never contacted before, so I had no idea if or when I’d hear back – or what they’d even think of the particular manuscript I had sent. The rejection was a brief form letter sent via email addressed to “author,” so I knew before I even read it how it was going to end.

Of course, as my right forefinger was sliding over to the ‘delete’ button, I was already thinking about who I might send the manuscript to next. I throw out or delete nearly every rejection letter I get because I figure if I can eliminate the negativity inherent in the situation, I can avoid dejection and concentrate on more positive things.

I’m trying to do that with this election, as well.

Here in the United States, we are voting today for our next president, and the campaigns have been ruthless, relentless, and wearisome. While neither candidate is the one I would have initially preferred to vote for, I know exactly who I’m voting for and will participate in this democratic process because I want to have a say in how my country is governed.

But I will do my utmost to try to be positive, no matter who wins. (Yes, yes, easier said than done, but I’m going to try, at least.)

Just like with my rejection letters, the negativity and dejection that follow an election loss can eat away at a person if he/she doesn’t have a strong defense. And with a race as contentious as this one has been, we cannot afford to add to the contentiousness by being foul and combative.

There’s been far too much of that, already.

We can be upset with the final result, sure – and frustrated and disappointed and exasperated – but ultimately, we’ll all have to dust ourselves off and keep moving forward as best we can, with as much optimism as we can muster.

And right after I vote, I’m sending out another manuscript.

========================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
SCVBWI_Member-badge (5 years)
To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)
 .
Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Rejection and dejection on a day of election

Leave a Reply

