Poetry Friday: “Pumpkin”

If you celebrated Thanksgiving Day in the U.S. yesterday, I hope you enjoyed it! In honor of the holiday, I’m sharing a poem of mine from last year’s children’s poetry anthology, Dear Tomato: An International Crop of Food & Agriculture Poems by Carol-Ann Hoyte:

Dear Tomato cover“Pumpkin”

Planted seeds.
Ground was dry.
Watered well and wished for pie.
Thanksgiving came,
I cleaned my plate!

Gourd things come to those who wait.

– © 2015, Matt Forrest Esenwine

I hope you’ll be sure to visit Carol’s Corner for a short review of a new novel in verse, AND today’s complete Poetry Friday roundup!

========================================================

poetryfridaybutton-fulllDid you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
SCVBWI_Member-badge (5 years)
To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)
 .
Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

20 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Pumpkin”

Leave a Reply

