Poetry Friday: “The Snow Clouds Know,” part of ‘The Best of Today’s Little Ditty!’

best-of-tld-coverA few weeks ago, friend and fellow writer Michelle H. Barnes published a collection of 75 poems by 55 different folks who have visited her blog and contributed poetry over the past 2 years. The book, The Best of Today’s Little Ditty, 2014-2015, is available now, and showcases a vast array of styles, forms, and voices.

Today, I’m sharing another one of my poems you’ll find inside…this one from a challenge from the one and only Joyce Sidman, who encouraged readers to write a “deeper wisdom” poem, modeled after her poem What the Trees Know, from her book, Winter Bees & Other Poems of the Cold (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014).

If you just clicked the link to read Joyce’s poem, you’ll see what the form looks like. As I often do, though, I tried to put my own spin on the challenge:

The Snow Clouds Know

What’s born above will soon be gone
to comfort what it falls upon.
Beauty blooms before the dawn;
this the snow clouds know.

Limbs are weak; snow is strong.
Days are short; nights are long.
Coyote sings a lonesome song;
this the snow clouds know.

– © 2015 Matt Forrest Esenwine, all rights reserved

Congratulations again, Michelle! I encourage everyone to visit her website today and find out more about the book and how to get a copy.

And speaking of poetry, be sure to ‘check out’ Jone MacCulloch’s little home on the web, “Check It Out,” for today’s complete Poetry Friday roundup, as well as info about her New Year Poetry Exchange!

========================================================

poetryfridaybutton-fulllDid you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
SCVBWI_Member-badge (5 years)
To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)
 .
Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

15 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “The Snow Clouds Know,” part of ‘The Best of Today’s Little Ditty!’

  1. lindabaie

    I did get my copy too, Matt, and the book is a treasure from Michelle. I love how you took these clouds and told us more about them than we knew before. It’s lovely.

    Like

  2. Joyce Ray

    Love your spin on the form,Matt, and your other poems in this wonderful collection. It’s special to have so many poems by our Poetry Friday friends in one book . A big congratulations and thank you to Michelle for The Best of Today ‘s Little Ditty!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. macrush53

    Late with commenting. I love your deeper thinking poem. My favorite line: “the days are short, the nights are long.” And I love that we are all in this collection.

    Like

Leave a Reply

