Poetry Friday: “Beulah Buford,” for Valentine’s Day!

poetryfridaybutton-fulllIn advance of Valentine’s Day, I thought I’d resurrect this little thing that I wrote several years ago…in honor of the emotional rollercoaster young folks go on when it comes to friendship, love, and the opposite sex. Not very tight metrically, but I kind of like it, nonetheless:

Beulah Buford

Beulah Buford picks on me;
calls me names, kicks my knee,
teases me about what I wear,
sticks gum in my books and hair.
I read her Valentine card, and SURPRISE –
it says she wants to apologize!
For now, I’ll stay far out of her way.

I hit her with a snowball at recess today.

© 2013, Matt Forrest Esenwine

.

For more (and much better) poetry, be sure to visit Katie at The Logonauts for today’s complete Poetry Friday roundup!

========================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
SCVBWI_Member-badge (5 years)
To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)
 .
Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!