Poetry Friday: “Beulah Buford,” for Valentine’s Day!

poetryfridaybutton-fulllIn advance of Valentine’s Day, I thought I’d resurrect this little thing that I wrote several years ago…in honor of the emotional rollercoaster young folks go on when it comes to friendship, love, and the opposite sex. Not very tight metrically, but I kind of like it, nonetheless:

Beulah Buford

Beulah Buford picks on me;
calls me names, kicks my knee,
teases me about what I wear,
sticks gum in my books and hair.
I read her Valentine card, and SURPRISE –
it says she wants to apologize!
For now, I’ll stay far out of her way.

I hit her with a snowball at recess today.

© 2013, Matt Forrest Esenwine

.

For more (and much better) poetry, be sure to visit Katie at The Logonauts for today’s complete Poetry Friday roundup!

========================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
SCVBWI_Member-badge (5 years)
To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)
 .
Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

14 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Beulah Buford,” for Valentine’s Day!

  1. maryleehahn

    So much truth! (Except, of course we can’t let them outside in the snow at recess anymore, and heaven forbid when the playground is clear enough that they would make a snowball from the plowed piles at the edges. All moot points anyway, at least in Ohio, where it appears that winter will bypass us yet again…)

    Like

    1. Wow, not much snow this year? We’ve had less than normal, but still a bunch…and we’re at the very beginning of a 10-24″ blizzard as I write this! And my son plays in the snow everyday at recess – although snowballs are not encouraged. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

