Poetry Friday: Ocean musings and a GIVEAWAY!

Allow me to show you around the office…

(click to enlarge)

This is a photo I took on our first day of vacation at York Beach, Maine, last week. We were there for our annual summer kick-off excursion (fortunately, we have friends who own a cottage so we get to rent it on the cheap!), and we got to celebrate both Father’s Day and my birthday (June 24) while we were there.

As always, the kids had a blast playing in the waves, playing on the sand, playing at the park, playing at the house, playing while we were trying to get the to go to sleep…ok, well, that last part wasn’t so great. But we all enjoyed it, and I especially enjoyed the surprise that was waiting for me when  we got back home:

That’s right…an entire box of advance copies of Flashlight Night!

So after I set aside 5 to give to my kids – to whom I dedicated the book – I decided I should give some of these things away.

So here’s what we’re going to do:

  • If you’d like to win a signed copy, just leave a comment, “like” this post, or share this post via Twitter and/or Facebook! (and if you do all four, that’s four chances to win!) If you share via Twitter, please tag me @MattForrestVW so I can give you credit; if you share via Facebook, just leave the link in the comments section below.
    .
  • I’d also LOVE to announce my 500th follower…so if you are not already following this blog, I hope you’ll consider doing so. Right now, I have 487 followers, so the number 13 could turn out to be very lucky:  my 500th follower will receive another signed copy!

Flashlight Night (Boyds Mills Press) hits bookshelves Sept. 19, 2017, and pre-orders are available now through Barnes & Noble and Amazon, or by clicking the image of the cover to the right. Of course, if you prefer, you can always wait til Sept. 19 and purchase it at your favorite local independent bookstore.

Oh, and if you happen to be in the Boston area Thur. night, Sept. 7, I hope you’ll join us for the national book launch party at Porter Square Books in Cambridge, MA! (More details will be forthcoming as we get closer!)

For more poetry, links, and fun, be sure to visit my friend Diane Mayr, the Haiku Queen, at Random Noodling for today’s complete Poetry Friday roundup. (And be sure to stop back here next Friday, when I announce the winners!)

========================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
SCVBWI_Member-badge (5 years)
To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)
 .
Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

45 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Ocean musings and a GIVEAWAY!

  1. Matt,
    I enjoyed your picture and the poem. Your ending had sufficient surprise for me that I read it twice. I like the way you’ve put this one together.
    Yes, I would love to win a copy of Flashlight Night.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Kristen Picone

    I’m looking forward to possibly including Flashlight on my Mock Caldecott list this year! I’ve heard such wonderful things about it and I’d love to see for myself! Thank you for this opportunity!

    Like

  3. dmayr

    Maine water in June? Are your kids suffering from hypothermia?

    Lovely combination of words and picture, Matt. Love those Maine beaches when the tide is out.

    Like

  4. Cory

    Loved the office tour, Matt!
    Your beautiful poem drew me in, and had me soaring the whole Maine coast. Brought back Ogunquit memories. Thanks, Matt!

    “If I could” win my own copy of FLASHLIGHT NIGHT, I’d “walk the sands, spread my wings, and soar the sky”.
    Wishing you much success.

    Cory

    Like

  5. And if that’s the office, I hope not much work was accomplished! As a Kindergarten teacher I am thrilled that so much play was on the agenda during your time at York. I’m sure you squeezed some ice cream in there, too! Can’t wait for Flashlight Night’s book birthday!

    Like

  6. lindabaie

    I’d love to win a copy, of course, but it is pre-ordered too. The grand-girls need their own copy! I’m off to the beach this coming week, so will put your poem in my notebook. It’s wonderful. Thanks, Matt! Enjoy all these days “anticipating”!

    Like

  7. Kathy Mazurowski

    Looks and sounds like you had a successful vacation. Coming home to your box of books, must have been a dream come true. I am excited for you!

    Like

  8. You have a very nice office. No shortage of inspiration there. 🙂 Lovely surprise awaiting your return. Congrats again!! Looking forward to reading the book!

    Like

  9. Congratulations all around, Matt. it is an exciting time for you. The poem you shared today is so lovely with a beautiful thought. I often go to the beach for serenity and thoughts to fly. You captured that. May I place this one in the summer gallery that I will send out invitations to after I unveil Springsations?

    Like

  10. Scott Fillner

    I want to use Flashlight Night in our first Mock Caldecott this year. I got to see an F&G and can’t wait for the finished copy.

    Like

  11. Matt, first MANY congratulations on a real. Live. BOOK! I will happily tweet and fb about it. But second, I was casting about for a poetry form to challenge me tonight. I ran into Naani poetry on Shadow Poetry’s website….and wasn’t really happy with the description…..you know how this goes. Google knows EVERYTHING…..and the best description with examples I’ve stumbled into is your blog post from March 2014. So, thanks for that. Best of luck with Flashlight. It’s a great concept…may the words live long and prosper.

    Like

    1. Well thank YOU for the nice thoughts, Linda! And I’m glad my little ol’ blog helped you with the naani form. I remember writing that post, but had forgotten how long ago that was – wow, has it been 3 years already?? Best of luck with your poetic challenge!

      Like

Leave a Reply

