Poetry Friday: “How Do YOU Haiku?” A publication celebration with author Danna Smith!

When is a poetry anthology more than just a poetry anthology? When it’s literally a complete how-to book featuring tips, guides, creative ideas, and writing prompts – and of course, plenty of poems from myriad writers!

I was so happy to learn that author/poet Danna Smith had selected one of my haiku for her brand-new book, How Do You Haiku? (Plumbago Press, 2023), that I knew I was going to need to ask her to stop by and visit. And sure, enough, she’s here!

Danna is an award-winning author of over twenty books for children, including The Hawk of the Castle (Candlewick), a 2018 Bank Street College of Education Best Children’s Books of the Year, Swallow the Leader (Clarion), and a number of Little Golden Books (how cool!).

Danna, thanks so much for taking a few minutes and chatting today. How did the idea for this book come about, and why did you feel it was needed?

A while back, I wrote a series of blog posts on my poetry blog, www.poetrypop.com, called How Do You Haiku?. Each week, readers had fun exploring a new way to “haiku,” from haiga (haiku with art), haibun (haiku with a story), and kuhi (creating poem stones).

Danna Smith

I received an overwhelming response to the series via emails from my readers, so I thought it would be great to expand on the idea in book form.

My blog focuses on teen and adult readers, but I wanted my book to be accessible to young readers as well, so I focused on creating a book with many templates and games that welcome and challenge writers of all ages.

What is it about haiku and its various iterations that you find so compelling? 

I love all forms of poetry, but I think with haiku, it’s the combination of so few rules, brevity, wordplay, and an opportunity to go outside and enjoy nature that I find most compelling.

This is not the first book you’ve published, of course, so I wonder if there was anything you found surprising in putting this one together? 

Most of my books are board books and picture books for young readers. They tell a story illustrated with colorful artwork. This book was a first for me: my first educational book, my first for older readers, and my first book with line-drawn illustrations. It differs significantly from what I’m used to, but I loved rising to the challenge!

A two-part question: what was the most challenging, and enjoyable, part of the process?

The most challenging part of the process was introducing (or reintroducing) the material in a friendly and accessible manner. I wanted my readers to see that writing haiku is not complicated, and it’s something they can do! I met the challenge by teaching how to “haiku” the way I would talk to my readers (or my kids when they were young) if we were in the same room, friendly, at ease, and a bit silly at times.

The most enjoyable part was interacting with and including poetry from poets and children’s authors worldwide (including your lovely haiku, Matt 😊). The book has a wide range of examples from my poems, current poets, and the Masters.

Image ©2023 Plumbago Press; cick image to enlarge.

I do have to say, I love the fact that you include new, contemporary haiku right beside poems from the Masters, as you say. (Seeing my poem on the same page as Masaoka Shiki was quite humbling!)

Alas, many publishers and bookstores tend to shy away from poetry – yet between picture books, music videos, and iTunes, kids are constantly exposed to poetry in one form or another. Why do you suppose there is a disconnect?

Unfortunately, poetry itself is not the most prevalent art form and takes up a much smaller shelf space. Maybe it’s because poetry is less interactive and “showy.” Picture books and music videos are visual, and many children are visual learners. Music is powerful as well.

It is my goal to get kids just as excited about poetry. For this reason, I included interactive elements with haiku templates, activities, and games. If kids (and adults) are creating haiku comics or painting poem stones, poetry is suddenly hands-on and more fun!

So what do you hope to accomplish with this book, and what would you like potential readers to know or learn? 

I want my readers to know that they can be poets. It’s not something we are born with; it is learned, and once you know the “tricks” of writing poetry, it’s easy and fun! I also want them to feel comfortable and confident in sharing their work with others.

Can you share details about any upcoming projects?

I have five books releasing in 2024–2026 that I’m super excited about! The first are two Little Golden Books, The Colors of Spring and The Colors of Fall, which will complete the series (The Colors of Winter and The Colors of Summer are in stores now). Two board books and a picture book are also under contract and in the works. These books have not yet been officially announced. I’m excited to share more about them when I can.

In the meantime, I am working on a picture book project about art, for which I hope my agent will be able to find a good home. I am crossing my fingers!

Well, thanks again, Danna, and have a great rest of your week!

Thank you for having me on your blog, Matt. It’s been a pleasure!


For more info about Danna, her books, and How Do You Haiku?, be sure to check out her website!

And for all of today’s poetry links and fun, check out the complete Poetry Friday roundup at Jama Rattigan’s Alphabet Soup, where she is featuring poetry that doesn’t take itself too seriously with Scottish poet Helena Nelson!

I hope you’ll join me NEXT FRIDAY as I host the Poetry Friday roundup right here as we pre-celebrate the Oct. 3 book birthday of my newest picture book, The Thing to Remember about Stargazing (Tilbury House, 2023), with a look at its poetic backstory AND a special event taking place throughout New Hampshire featuring the book!

Oh, and now that the school year is fully underway…

I’m booking author visits for the 2023-24 shool year!

I love chatting with elementary and middle school classes about writing: why poetry is fun to read and write, the importance of revision, and how imagination and creativity can lead to fantastic careers! My presentations are tailored to fit the needs of the classes and students’ ages. One day I might be sharing details of how a picture book like Flashlight Night (Astra Young Readers, 2017) was created; the next, I’ll be discussing dinosaur breath or origami sea turtles!

Student presentations include:

  • The Making of a Picture Book
  • How a Child Saved a Book
  • “Once Upon Another Time”
  • The Most Imporant Thing about Writing Poetry
  • “I Am Today”
  • “A Beginner’s Guide to Being Human”
  • “Everybody Counts: Counting to 10 in Twelve Languages”

Adult presentations include:

  • The Making of a Picture Book
  • The Most Important Thing about Writing Poetry
  • Free Yourself with Free Verse
  • Tight Language, Loose Narratives: Crafting a Non-Traditional Picture Book

Learn more at MattForrest.com!

If you or someone you know might be interested in having me visit your school, library, or other organization, please email me
at matt(at)mattforrest(dot)com!

=====================================================

NOW AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDERS:
.

.

Order a PERSONALLY-SIGNED copy of this or or ANY of my books
from my local independent bookstore!

=====================================================

I’m now on BOOKSHOP!

=====================================================

I’m also very happy to be part of the BOOKROO family!

=====================================================

Ordering personalized signed copies online? Oh, yes, you can!

You can purchase personally-signed copies of Flashlight Night, (Astra Young Readers, 2017), Don’t Ask a Dinosaur (Pow! Kids Books, 2018)and nearly EVERY book or anthology I’ve been part of!

Click here to view all my books and to order!

Just click the cover of whichever book you want and send a comment to the good folks at MainStreet BookEnds in Warner, NH requesting my signature and to whom I should make it out. (alternatively, you can log onto my website and do the same thing) They’ll contact me, I’ll stop by and sign it, and then they’ll ship it! (Plus, you’ll be supporting your local bookseller – and won’t that make you feel good?)

======================================================

Thank you to everyone for your support!

FLASHLIGHT NIGHT:

DON’T ASK A DINOSAUR:

======================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!

To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post once or twice a week – usually Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day) . Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookInstagramPinterest, and SoundCloud!

18 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “How Do YOU Haiku?” A publication celebration with author Danna Smith!

  1. Denise Krebs

    Matt, congratulations for having your haiku in the book next to the master’s! I just learned about Kuhi, and I’m planning to make some for my yard. Thanks for sharing “How Do You Haiku?”

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.