Poetry Friday: Holiday busy-ness and a look back at a “Better Christmas”

December might be the month that everyone says the publishing industry slows down – with agents and editors tying up loose ends and playing catch-up on all their submission piles – but for me, I’m as busy as ever!

(You can also check out a brief clip of one of my presentations)

Between a few final school visits of the year, a couple of holiday book signings, and two new manuscripts I’m trying to wrap up, I’ve been so busy that Poetry Friday almost slipped past me. This past Wednesday alone, I did a half-day school visit about an hour and a half away, came home, then turned around and left three hours later for an author night featuring readings and sales another hour or so away.

For a stay-at-home dad, that’s a lot of travelling!

By the way, you still have time to order PERSONALLY-SIGNED copies of my books:

There’s only ONE PLACE to get personally-signed copies of my books!

After writing last week’s found Christmas poem, today I wanted to share another found poem I’d written five years ago as part of Tabatha Yeatts’ annual Winter Poetry Swap. I’d originally posted it as part of a National Flashlight Day post but felt it was worth dusting off and sharing again.

I created it using words and phrases from past Christmas-themed posts at blogger Donna Smith’s blog, Mainely Write. I then used a photo of our own outdoor Christmas tree as a backdrop:

…..


.

If you’d like to see the original post, which explains a bit more about the poem, click HERE.

Speaking of found Christmas poems, a lot of folks told me they had been trying to determine which carols I used for last week’s poem so I thought I’d provide you the list:

  • O Little Town of Bethlehem
  • The First Noel
  • What Child Is This
  • Away In a Manger
  • O Holy Night
  • God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  • O Come All Ye Faithful

Looking for more poetry? Visit Janice at Salt City Verse where she is celebrating the holidays with Christmas haiku, delicious stollen, and mateaphorical slippers. Check it out!


~~ SPECIAL SCHOOL VISIT OFFER! ~~

I’m booking author visits for the 2023-24 school year, and would like to fill my schedule as soon as possible, so I can plan out the rest of my year. SO…if you book me for a full-day, in-person school visit ($700, which includes up to 5 presentations) BEFORE 12/31/23, I will take $100 off! (Or 20% off a virtual visit!) Email me now at Matt (at) MattForrest (dot) com!

I love chatting with elementary and middle school classes about writing: why poetry is fun to read and write, the importance of revision, and how imagination and creativity can lead to fantastic careers! My presentations are tailored to fit the needs of the classes and students’ ages. One day I might be sharing details of how a picture book like Flashlight Night (Astra Young Readers, 2017) was created; the next, I’ll be discussing dinosaur breath or crafting origami sea turtles!

Student presentations include:

  • The Making of a Picture Book
  • How a Child Saved a Book
  • “Once Upon Another Time”
  • The Most Imporant Thing about Writing Poetry
  • “I Am Today”
  • “A Beginner’s Guide to Being Human”
  • “Everybody Counts: Counting to 10 in Twelve Languages”

Adult presentations include:

  • The Making of a Picture Book
  • The Most Important Thing about Writing Poetry
  • Free Yourself with Free Verse
  • Tight Language, Loose Narratives: Crafting a Non-Traditional Picture Book

Learn more at MattForrest.com!

If you or someone you know might be interested in having me visit your school, library, or other organization, please email me
at matt(at)mattforrest(dot)com!

=====================================================

NOW AVAILABLE EVERYWHERE:
.

.

Order a PERSONALLY-SIGNED copy of this or or ANY of my books
from my local independent bookstore!

=====================================================

I’m now on BOOKSHOP!

=====================================================

I’m also very happy to be part of the BOOKROO family!

=====================================================

Ordering personalized signed copies online? Oh, yes, you can!

You can purchase personally-signed copies of Flashlight Night, (Astra Young Readers, 2017), Don’t Ask a Dinosaur (Pow! Kids Books, 2018)and nearly EVERY book or anthology I’ve been part of!

Click here to view all my books and to order!

Just click the cover of whichever book you want and send a comment to the good folks at MainStreet BookEnds in Warner, NH requesting my signature and to whom I should make it out. (alternatively, you can log onto my website and do the same thing) They’ll contact me, I’ll stop by and sign it, and then they’ll ship it! (Plus, you’ll be supporting your local bookseller – and won’t that make you feel good?)

======================================================

Thank you to everyone for your support!

FLASHLIGHT NIGHT:

DON’T ASK A DINOSAUR:

======================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!

To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post once or twice a week – usually Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day) . Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookInstagram, and SoundCloud!

12 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Holiday busy-ness and a look back at a “Better Christmas”

  1. Tracey Kiff-Judson

    Your school visits look so interactive and interesting! I love your poem. I recently realized that found poems are a lot more challenging than they may seem. Making them sound like a cohesive piece is a real trick! Beautiful example!

    Like

  2. lindabaie

    I’m sure Donna loved it, Matt, and I do, too! I love the idea of ‘scraps of Christmas’, often find after “clean-up” a piece of gift wrap or shiny tinsel hiding under some piece of furniture, my “scrap” of memory! Have a great, maybe less busy, week ahead!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.