Poetry Friday: The diagnosis is in and I have no idea what to do with it

Well, at least I now know why I’ve never had a problem acting like a goofball in front of crowds.

Ever have a pain in your side that won’t go away, and the doctors dismiss it?

Ever hear a strange pinging sound coming from under the car, but your mechanic says it’s nothing?

Well, I’ve spent years wondering why I never really felt “normal” – and now, after a day-long series of tests and 100+ questions (and waiting 10 months to do it), I have an answer.

I’m autistic.

It’s weird saying that, because I don’t really feel like it’s the disability folks seem to think it is. Granted, I’m Level 1, which is considered high-functioning, so there are plenty of others who have a much harder time with life than I.

“My ice cream cone is lost! Nooooooooo!”

But if there was ever a good reason to refer to someone as “differently-abled” rather than “disabled,” people like me are definitely it.

There have been signs all my life: my all-or-nothing attitude when learning something new about which I’m passionate; my propensity to notice minute details while missing larger concepts; my black-and-white, stronger-than-normal sense of justice.

That, and the constant, annoying feeling that I’m really not as mature as I should be. Sure, some people will call themselves “a big kid” – but I literally feel and act like I’m a 12 year-old in a 56-year-old’s body.

And now we know why.

“Hang on, this is a very important call!”

There’s not really a whole lot I can do about this, of course, but I was eager to be tested so that I could at least know if I was on the spectrum or just off my rocker. A whole lot of things make sense now.

One of the important aspects of the testing is that they test you not just for “autism,” per se, but to rule out a whole smorgasboard of other mental issues – so half the tests were designed to diagnose (or eliminate) things like ADD, ADHD, OCD, et al. They also test your intelligence level and provide you with your IQ Score!

This is where it got interesting.

For cognitive ability, I scored in the 98th percentile – meaning when it comes to intelligence, I’m in the top 2% of the general population. Aside from the fact that this is a sad reflection on the state of the intelligence of the general population, I also learned my Score IQ is 130, which one could say is either at the very, very upper-end of average intelligence or at the very, very low end of above-average intelligence. (130 and above is considered above average)

It probably would’ve been higher, had I not blown a couple of easy questions due to being confused about why I was being asked all these questions!

Don’t think I’m going to hold my breath waiting for these folks to call.

However…my memory score ended up in the toilet, between 25%-50%. Ordinarily, that wouldn’t be a huge deal – it’s the lower half for an average memory – but the psychiatrist who oversaw the testing was shocked that someone with my intelligence level would score so low on memory. As she explained, it was a normal memory score for normal intelligence; for someone with my level of intelligence to have the same low, average memory score was unusual.

But you know, Unusual has always been my middle name. Well, other than Forrest.

So anyway, there it is and here I am. I honestly debated about sharing this news with you because – let’s face it – do you really care? It doesn’t make a difference in how I behave or write, and there’s certainly nothing I can do to “change” my autism. I just thought that perhaps, if there IS a stigma attached to it, me blabbing about it might do some good.

For now, though, I’ll just keep plugging along, doing what I’ve been doing – living life and forgetting most of it.

Before we get to today’s poem, two things:

May be an image of text

First, I’ll once again be sharing my books with classrooms across the country on World Read Aloud Day – Wed., Feb. 7, 2024 – and I still have some timeslots available! If you’d be interested in having me join your students, or know a teacher who might, please let me know by emailing me at matt(at)mattforrest.(dot)com. (Check out that huge graphic below to get an idea of what oen of my virtual visits is like!)

Also, my friend and fellow children’s author/poet David L. Harrison has gathered a bunch of his poetry-writing pals to develop a weekly series of articles in his local newspaper, the Springfield (MO) News Leader – and it’s already growing to several other newspapers! From children’s poets like Charles Ghigna and Marilyn Singer to the Pulitzer Prize-winning Ted Kooser, a wide variety of writers and subects help expand the public’s appreciation for reading and writing poetry.

And I have to thank David for inviting me, as well! You can read my article HERE.

Whew! Now, finally, today’s poem!

I’ll explain how and where I created this in just a sec, but I wanted to share the poem first:
.

Constellation dreams

rise
to take
stars
to
empty
Heavens

© 2024, Matt Forrest Esenwine, all rights reserved

.
While I pondered what I should share for today’s poem, I thought it might be fun to craft another found poem – one that is created using choice words and phrases from already-established text, like a magazine or book. I had already shared a found poem last month using Christmas carols, so this time around I thought it would be fun – and certainly appropriate – to use a picture book with a neurodivergent main character!

I chose my friend Kaz Windness’ Bitsy Bat, School Star (Simon & Schuster, 2023) not only because of the “star” of her book, but because Kaz is also a member of this neurodiverse community in which I’ve found myself – and I really wanted to write something in a tone completely unlike that of Bitsy Bat. Mission accomplished, I think.

For today’s complete Poetry Friday roundup, head over to Marcie Flinchum Atkins’ blog where she’s celebrating her “word of the year” – and looking forward to growing, discovering, and writing!


~~ SCHOOL VISITS still available! ~~

I’m booking author visits for the 2024 spring semester and still have a few dates available. If you think your school might be interested in having me visit, check out all the presentations I offer, then email me at Matt (at) MattForrest (dot) com!

I love chatting with elementary and middle school classes about writing: why poetry is fun to read and write, the importance of revision, and how imagination and creativity can lead to fantastic careers! My presentations are tailored to fit the needs of the classes and students’ ages. One day I might be sharing details of how a picture book like Flashlight Night (Astra Young Readers, 2017) was created; the next, I’ll be discussing dinosaur breath or crafting origami sea turtles!

Student presentations include:

  • The Making of a Picture Book
  • How a Child Saved a Book
  • “Once Upon Another Time”
  • The Most Imporant Thing about Writing Poetry
  • “I Am Today”
  • “A Beginner’s Guide to Being Human”
  • “Everybody Counts: Counting to 10 in Twelve Languages”

Adult presentations include:

  • The Making of a Picture Book
  • The Most Important Thing about Writing Poetry
  • Free Yourself with Free Verse
  • Tight Language, Loose Narratives: Crafting a Non-Traditional Picture Book

Learn more at MattForrest.com!

If you or someone you know might be interested in having me visit your school, library, or other organization, please email me
at matt(at)mattforrest(dot)com!

=====================================================

NOW AVAILABLE EVERYWHERE:
.

.

Order a PERSONALLY-SIGNED copy of this or or ANY of my books
from my local independent bookstore!

=====================================================

I’m now on BOOKSHOP!

=====================================================

I’m also very happy to be part of the BOOKROO family!

=====================================================

Ordering personalized signed copies online? Oh, yes, you can!

You can purchase personally-signed copies of Flashlight Night, (Astra Young Readers, 2017), Don’t Ask a Dinosaur (Pow! Kids Books, 2018)and nearly EVERY book or anthology I’ve been part of!

Click here to view all my books and to order!

Just click the cover of whichever book you want and send a comment to the good folks at MainStreet BookEnds in Warner, NH requesting my signature and to whom I should make it out. (alternatively, you can log onto my website and do the same thing) They’ll contact me, I’ll stop by and sign it, and then they’ll ship it! (Plus, you’ll be supporting your local bookseller – and won’t that make you feel good?)

======================================================

Thank you to everyone for your support!

FLASHLIGHT NIGHT:

DON’T ASK A DINOSAUR:

======================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!

To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post once or twice a week – usually Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day) . Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookInstagram, and SoundCloud!

24 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: The diagnosis is in and I have no idea what to do with it

  1. Tabatha

    I think it’s great you were able to find out something that made sense to you about yourself, Matt. (I’m curious about your memory…some medications can cause memory loss. That’s the first thing I would rule out.) Keep pluggin’ along!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Tabatha. Other than eye drops for my glaucoma and a lotion for some dermatitis, I’m pretty much drug-free – and if you ask either my current wife OR my first wife, they’ll both tell you that my memory has been an issue for a loooong time! 😀

      Like

  2. I applaud your bravery and honesty, Matt. And I totally agree with Linda – just be you! And thanks for introducing me to Bitsy Bat. It seems like she’s the star of a great book and someone I want to meet.

    Like

  3. Matt, thanks for sharing what you’ve recently learned about yourself. Like LInda said: Just be Matt. Autism comes with so many superpowers! And you know, memory loss can be a gift as well. 🙂

    Like

      1. Jane Heitman Healy

        Matt, thank you for being vulnerable here. I’m going to guess that there are many adults with undiagnosed autism, ADHD, etc. Though as a society, we have much to learn about autism and other conditions, we have learned a lot, and chief among them is–it’s not the person’s “fault,” there is no blame, there is no shame. You are loved and lovable. You, in particular, are a very successful creative person. Here’s to more of that!

        Like

      2. Thank you, Jane. And yes, there are probably many undiagnosed adults who either don’t think there’s anything that can be diagnosed, or have just developed enough coping skills (like I have) to get through life. But I have to say, knowing I’m on the spectrum makes my entire 56 years of life completely make sense.

        Like

    1. I haven’t read the book, but I have heard of him – he’s like a young me, in a way, because he’s completely unafraid of making a spectacle of himself, ha! The psychiatrist I spoke with said that, despite my perceived introversion, I’m quite an extroverted, gregarious person, and she felt my introversion was likely due to all the bullying I went through growing up.

      Like

  4. Tracey Kiff-Judson

    Matt, I look forward to your post every week! You are funny, charming, silly, insightful, generous, and self-deprecating. If we are using labels, those are the labels I would assign to you. : )

    Like

  5. I appreciate the courage you have in sharing this diagnosis, and I am glad you are able to understand yourself better, answer certain questions you had. But it doesn’t change that you are a great children’s writer, teacher and, as I learn from your posts, father. That’s more important at the age of 56 than a diagnosis. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Poetry Friday: “Maybe?” – Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

  7. Matt, I finally got to your last week blog. I am impressed with your forthright discussion of being a neurodivergent person. My son is open about his disabilities that started with mild cerebral palsy and a distinct short-term memory loss. While being an extrovert, he also feels the strains of loneliness. I am sure that he would find it fascinating to speak with you. Sometimes, my husband and son attend conventions with me and enjoys speaking with author friends of mine. I don’t think that a diagnosis stops your wheels of learning, writing, and being you. Best wishes !

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.