Poetry Friday: Seasonal haiku

poetryfridaybutton-fulllHere’s something brand-new I wanted to share: it’s another poem I’m considering including in my Autumn-themed collection.

I tend to title all my poems, including my haiku – which is technically a no-no, as haiku are not supposed to be titled. So I’m gritting my teeth here, trying not to tell you the title is “Protector.”


Oh well, try to forget the title and just enjoy the poem, if you can now…and be sure to visit Katya at Write. Sketch. Repeat. for the complete Poetry Friday roundup!

Winter’s first snowfall
arrives just in time to catch
Autumn’s last leaf.

– © 2013, Matt Forrest Esenwine


PoetsGarage-badgeDid you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it!  To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)  Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

25 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Seasonal haiku

  1. Pingback: Poetry Friday, almost-the-holidays edition | Write. Sketch. Repeat. — Katya Czaja

  2. margaretsmn

    Perfect little haiku. The personification of snow as a ball playing boy is ever so clever, as you often are. I don’t think it needs the title, though.


  3. Matt,
    Thank you for bringing the snow fall to me. I’m still thinking colored leaves and enjoying the vicarious scent of wood fires. Great haiku, I enjoyed then light that came into my hands.


  4. Pingback: Daily Haiku 2014.04.20 – | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

