Poetry Friday: Green Anaconda haiku

poetryfridaybutton-fulllI’ve been doing some research on wild animals lately, and it’s amazing the things I discover when I’m not trying. Like learning that anacondas can weigh over 200 pounds – or, as much as two toilets.

Yes, toilets. One standard toilet weighs about 100 pounds. As I said, it’s amazing what one can learn simply by accident!

Anyway, I got thinking about the green anaconda, specifically. The largest snake in the world, it may not grow quite as long as its cousin, the reticulated python, but when it comes to weight, no other snake compares. The largest ever found was 30 feet in length – half as long as a bowling lane – and weighed more than 500 pounds!

And because anacondas are members of the boa family, they rely on constriction to subdue their prey (fish, wild pigs, deer, even jaguars!) before swallowing it whole. They can then go weeks or months before eating again. Want to see an apex predator in action?

Any creature that can attack – and subdue – a crocodile has my utmost respect! But why am I am sharing this with you? Because, like so many things, all this information turned itself into a poem. I present to you…a haiku:

.

Green Anaconda

Sssilence, ssstrength; one-month
hunger endsss in ssseconds here,
rainforessst café

– © 2017 Matt Forrest Esenwine, all rights reserved

.

The Poetry Friday roundup can be found at A Teaching Life, so be sure to stop by and visit Tara for all of today’s poetry links along with a beautiful poem by Gary Soto!

===================================================

Flashlight Night (Boyd’s Mills Press) hits bookshelves Sept. 5, 2017!

Pre-orders are available now through Barnes & Noble and Amazon, or by clicking the image of the cover to the right. Of course, if you prefer, you can always wait til Sept. 5 and purchase it at your favorite local independent bookstore.

And thank you for all your support!

========================================================

Did you like this post? Find something interesting elsewhere in this blog? I really won’t mind at all if you feel compelled to share it with your friends and followers!
SCVBWI_Member-badge (5 years)
To keep abreast of all my posts, please consider subscribing via the links up there on the right!  (I usually only post twice a week – on Tues. and Fri. – so you won’t be inundated with emails every day)
 .
Also feel free to visit my voiceover website HERE, and you can also follow me via Twitter FacebookPinterest, and SoundCloud!

21 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Green Anaconda haiku

  1. That is one frightening snake! I worried about the coyotes in the woods when my kids were toddlers. Now I have to be thrilled that anacondas were not a possibility! I like the last line of your haiku. Usually one eats at a cafe, but in a rainforest, one might always be on the menu! 🙂

    Like

  2. Karen Eastlund

    Sssensational haiku, Matt! Mother Nature is a tough old biddy. Didn’t watch that video all through, and I don’t even like alligators! ;0)
    Have a sssuper day.

    Like

  3. lindabaie

    When I traveled to Costa Rica with my students, we were on the watch for boa constrictors, no anacondas there. But boa thoughts were enough! What an amazing video, and your haiku is ssssimply great.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.